ECHO
ECHO includes links to over 5,000 websites relating to the History of Science, Technology, and Industry. Use the links below to access the website's main page where you can jump to links, Browse by Categories link to browse all websites by category, or Search Funciton to search ECHO for websites that include a specific word or phrase.
Scientific Illustration
- Database of Scientific IllustratorsIncludes scientific illustrators from all over the world, from the invention of the printing press around 1450 up to ca.1950. Produced by the University of Stuttgart.
In UCLA Library Special Collections
Search the UCLA Library Catalog and the Online Archive of California for 18th-century primary sources related to the history of science, technology, and/or medicine. In the catalog, search for science 18th century, then limit the search by UCLA Location to Library Special Collections.
18th Century HSMT Resources
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more from 17th-, 18th- and 19th-century America.
- Burndy Library at The Huntington LibraryThe Burndy Library is a collection of some 67,000 rare books and reference volumes; the collection also contains scientific instruments. This link takes you to results from a search in the Huntington Library Catalog for "Burndy Library Collection at the Huntington Library" as a Subject.
- CalTech ArchivesThe digital collection of the archives of the California Institute of Technology. Included in their collections are manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, artifacts, a digital media collection, online exhibits, and much more. Also included are images from rare books.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with major works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- Eighteenth Century Journals, 1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of rare newspapers and journals printed between 1685 and 1835 in the UK and colonies, including India, the Caribbean, and Canada, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Includes an index to The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1818. - Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. - Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal that includes visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from multiple libraries, companies, and trade organizations. It charts the history of 15 major commodities, including chocolate, coffee, oil, and sugar. - Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more. - The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of books, periodicals, and primary source materials from the period 1460-1945. Focuses on economics, political science, history, and sociology, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation, and manufacturing.
- Medical Heritage LibraryThe Medical Heritage Library is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. This open access collection includes digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films from 1600 to the present.
- Newton PapersA digital collection of the papers of Sir Isaac Newton held at Cambridge University.
- The Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of LondonThe Philosophical Transactions is the Royal Society of London's journal of scientific discoveries. This resource includes issues from its inception in 1665 to present. (In 1887, the Philosophical Transactions split into two separate journals, one on physical sciences ("A") and the other on life sciences ("B"), both of which are also available on the site.)