Quick Start
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Licensed for use by 5 simultaneous users. Your work can only be saved if you make an account. However, you can still use the application as a guest. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA. - EVGeoCloud This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based platform that provides online access to geospatial data, hosting many terabytes of vector data, raster data, and digital maps. To access this database, select the link for UCLA; you must also be using a computer that is connected to your UC campus network. The VPN must be used for off-campus access to this resource. - LandScan Global Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows quick and easy assessment, estimation, and visualization of populations-at-risk. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models. Critical component of emergency planning and management, rapid risk assessment, evacuation planning, consequence assessment, mitigation planning and implementation.
- Cal-Atlas Geospatial ClearinghouseThe Cal-Atlas site facilitates the sharing of geospatial data and web map services by California government agencies, partners and stakeholders. Includes links to physical and cultural geospatial data from the California Spatial Information Library(CaSIL).
- EarthWorksStanford's EarthWorks allows you to search the digital data and scanned map libraries of several different institutions.
- UCLA GeoportalThe UCLA Geoportal is a collaborative effort between the Geography, IDRE, and UCLA Library that aims to provide open geographic data to the UCLA community.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionGeo-reference maps
- GISDegree.orgStreamline your search for the best GIS degrees & certificate programs in the USA with GISDegree.org. Browse by state or dig into our comprehensive listings of on-campus and online programs in GIS and Geographic Information Science (GIScience). You’ll find everything from associate’s degrees to PhD programs. Or use the GIS career resources section to get a handle on certifications & networking.
GIS in the UCLA Library
Are you doing GIS research? Have you ever considered that your research might have a spatial perspective or angle that you would like to investigate? This research guide provides a great starting point for learning more about the GIS and geospatial resources available to you while at UCLA.
The Charles E. Young Research Library provides access to a diverse set of software, data, tools, databases, and other research support for GIS and geospatial research.
The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection's UCLA Centennial Celebration
The UCLA Centennial 2019 story map uses words, historical pictures, maps, archival documents, and graphical mapping tools to tell an interactive story about changes that have taken place at the UCLA Campus during first 100 years. It explores collections that span a variety of resources and formats presenting the UCLA Campus from 1919 to 2019. Most maps presented in this story are part of the UCLA Henry J. Bruman Map Collection.
GIS Tutorials
- Carto workshop at UCLAWorkshop given by IDRE and UCLA Library on Carto, Palladio, and OdysseyJS
- Intro to Maps History and BeyondWorkshop given by UCLA Library and IDRE on map history, GIS, and more.