Skip to main content

Engineering 185: Art of Engineering Endeavors

Library Prize for Undergraduate Research


The Library Prize for Undergraduate Research recognizes and honors excellence in undergraduate research at UCLA. Cash prizes will be awarded for the best projects (group or individual) supported by UCLA Library resources.

Prize categories include the Arts and Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences; as well as projects that incorporate resources from the UCLA Library Special Collections and the Music Library's contemporary music collections.

Librarian

Renee Romero's picture
Renee Romero
Contact:
Science and Engineering Library (SEL)

COVID-19: Library Information, Resources, & Print Access

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Guide Overview

This Engineering 185 guide is meant to be a jumping off point for your research, note that it is not comprehensive. Please provide feedback by emailing the 185 librarian (see contact info below).

This guide deals with science and technology tools and resources; for business-related information (including industry and market research) take a look at the complementary libguide Business Information for Engineers by Michael Oppenheim.

For tips on doing research, evaluating sources, and citing sources, check out the advice guides and Citing Sources.

Remember your friendly SEL librarians are happy to provide additional research assistance.

VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server
Proxy on Windows
Coming soon!

Engineering Research Skills Videos

Want to learn more about constructing effective searches, navigating the Melvyl catalog and newspaper archives, and more? Take a look at the Engineering Research Skills playlist for videos on brainstorming and searching techniques!