Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
UCLA Library Catalog Search Tips
- Use keywords to locate books that have relevant information. Find one book that looks appropriate and locate subject headings. Use the subject headings to find appropriate books and refine your search.
- Use truncation symbols. In the UCLA Library Catalog, engineer* will retrieve engineer, engineers, engineered, engineering, etc. Check each catalog to see what symbol it uses (*, ?, $).
- Remember: you can sort results by date as well as relevance. A book that sounds perfect for your topic may be outdated. If you find one of these, try step 1) above to find similar newer titles.
Librarian
Renee Romero
Contact:
Science and Engineering Library (SEL)
Subjects: Biology & Life Sciences, Psychology
E-book Collections
Full list of E-books in Science and Engineering.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of fully searchable engineering content. Includes the latest editions of classics such as Marks; Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
- Cambridge eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes most science and engineering titles from 2014 to present. - CHEMnetBASEChemistry topics covered include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography, and spectroscopy.
- Elsevier (ScienceDirect) eBooks 2013-present
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers science, technology, and health sciences disciplines (excluding specialty medical titles). After searching, limit to Book Chapters. - IET eBooks 2010-presentIET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) books cover engineering and technology. The available series are: Circuits, devices and systems; Control engineering; Electrical technology; Electromagnetic waves; History of technology; Management of technology; Manufacturing; Power and energy; Professional applications of computing; Radar, sonar, navigation and avionics; Renewable energy; Telecommunications
- Knovel LibrarySearch/browse 2500+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
- MIT Press eBooks Library: The Computing & Engineering CollectionThe collection includes more than 450 titles from 1943 to the present in the fields of computer science and engineering technologies, including artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- Momentum Press eBooks 2007-2014Manufacturing, mechanical, civil, environmental technology, and materials science and engineering books.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE)Programming and information technology e-books, many up-to-date titles.
- Springer E-books 2005-present
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly every Springer e-book (~120,000 titles) published in English and German from 2005 to present, across many disciplines. - Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer ScienceContains many 50- to 100-page "Lectures", or self-contained e-books that synthesize a research or development topic, authored by an expert.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- Wiley E-books 2011-presentIncludes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Google Books Search
Google Book Search does not post the entire text of a book online unless the book is in the public domain. Try searching with terms more appropriate to your topics. If you find a book that sounds interesting, check to see if it is in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Library catalogs use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (http://authorities.loc.gov) of describe their books and journals. You may want to look at the Library of Congress Subject Heading List before you begin searching in a catalog. You'll be able to see subject terms that are broader, more specific or related and use those in your search as well.