What is Mind Well?
The Mind Well pod promotes wellness of mind, brain and spirit, fosters creativity, and enhances social connectedness throughout the UCLA community. You can learn more by visiting the Mind Well website.
Basic information from the web
MedlinePlus provides links to authoritative information for the general public on many health issues. You can find summary information, news articles, health check tools, statistics, and a link to selected journal articles. Here are some links to MedlinePlus. Use the search box if you do not find what you are looking for.
Books
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by Call Number: Online (vis Psychiatry Online)ISBN: 0890425574Date: 2013- The Praeger Handbook of Community Mental Health Practice byCall Number: Online (via ebrary)ISBN: 9780313399541Date: 2013
Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health by Call Number: Biomedical Library - WM 30.6 H236 2013ISBN: 9789400742758Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Stress, Health, and Coping by Call Number: Biomedical Library - WM 172 O985 2011ISBN: 9780195375343Date: 2011
Relevant organizations
- The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
Other useful links
- UCLA Sleep WellThe UCLA Sleep Well Campaign aims to:
1. connect and integrate various Mind-Well partners to form new and highlight existing sleep and resiliency-building activities that are both replicable and sustainable
2. deliver broad and targeted promotion of sleep and stress-reduction education to enhance positive sleep hygiene, quantity and quality of sleep; and
3. ultimately promote wellness of mind, brain and spirit, foster creativity, and enhance social connectedness of UCLA students, faculty, and staff.
Guidelines and recommendations
- The Community Guide — Mental HealthThis site contains evidence-based recommendations for managing depression.
- Healthy People 2020 — Mental Health and Mental DisordersThis page is a good starting point for information and interventions for mental health disorders.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) — A Guide to Evidence-Based PracticesThis new Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
Data and statistics
- California Health Interview Survey — AskCHISThis tool lets you query results from the California Health Interview Survey. It's free to create an account. Variables under the "Mental and Emotional Health Category" are relevant to Mind Well research.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Under the Health menu > Perceived Health Status, you can map mental health related variables from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System. You can also look at geographic locations of mental health treatment facilities.
- Healthy People 2020 — Mental Health and Mental Disorders DataThis page contains data for various HP2020 objectives relating to mental health.
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) StatisticsA webpage that includes data on the prevalence of various mental illnesses (e.g. anxiety disorder and major depression) in the U.S., the disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) attributable to mental and behavioral disorders, and the cost of mental healthcare in the U.S., to name a few.
Searching for research literature
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a very large database with records for millions of articles. It's easy to get overwhelmed! A great way to start your research is to take advantage of PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Try using the MeSH terms for Mental Health, Mental Health Services, or specific conditions (e.g. Depressive Disorder) along with other relevant MeSH terms or keywords for your research topic. You can browse for MeSH terms in the MeSH database. When you find one that you want to use, click the button on the right that says "Add to search builder." When you're finished adding MeSH terms to your search, you can search PubMed using the "Search PubMed" button. Getting too many results? Try going back to MeSH and checking the box that says "Restrict to MeSH Major Topic." This will limit your search results to only the most relevant articles. Remember you can also use the filters on the left side of the PubMed results screen! Using the Article Type - Review filter is particularly helpful when you're starting your research.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO has a thesaurus feature that can help you quickly retrieve the most relevant articles. From the Advanced search page, click the "Thesaurus" link and search for a subject you're interested in. Check the box for Major to limit only to the most relevant papers.