What is Move Well?
Move Well is the pod focused on physical activity, physical fitness, exercise, and health. You can learn more by visiting the Move Well website.
Basic information from the web
MedlinePlus provides links to authoritative information for the general public on many health issues. You can find summary information, news articles, health check tools, statistics, and a link to selected journal articles. Here are some links to MedlinePlus. Use the search box if you do not find what you are looking for.
Books
Physical Activity, Exercise, Sedentary Behavior and Health by Call Number: Online (via Springer)ISBN: 9784431553335Date: 2015
The Oxford Handbook of Exercise Psychology (online) by Call Number: GV481.2 .O94 2012ISBN: 9780195394313Date: 2012
Relevant organizations
- National Association for Health and FitnessThe National Association for Health and Fitness (NAHF) is a non-profit organization that exists to improve the quality of life for individuals in the United States through the promotion of physical fitness, sports and healthy lifestyles.
Other useful links
- UCLA Recreation — FITWELLThe UCLA Recreation FITWELL Program activates wellness on campus by educating, motivating and empowering faculty, staff and students to make healthy lifestyle choices specifically in the areas of fitness and exercise, nutrition and weight management, stress management, and general health education.
- ChooseHealthLAChoose Health LA is a local initiative of the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health to prevent and control chronic disease in Los Angeles County.
Cancer prevention and screening
- American Cancer Society — Cancer Facts and Figures 2015A report that provides data on trends in age-adjusted death rates for various types of cancer, the estimated number of new cases for certain cancers by state, and racial/ethnic disparities with respect to the incidence and death rates for selected cancers, among others.
- National Cancer Institute — Research-Tested Intervention Programs (RTIPs)A searchable database of 162 interventions related to cancer control. The database includes interventions on topics such as diet/nutrition, HPV vaccination, physical activity, and sun safety.
- National Cancer Institute — Cancer Control PlanetA webpage that includes information on comprehensive cancer control plans in both the U.S. and in foreign countries, displays state cancer profiles, and links to additional resources such as the Cancer Trends Progress Report and the Annual Report to the Nation on the Status of Cancer.
Guidelines and recommendations
- The CDC Guide to Strategies to Increase Physical Activity in the CommunityA document that expands on ten strategies to promote physical activity at the community level. For each strategy, the document describes evidence of its effectiveness, key considerations, action steps one may take to implement the strategy in specific settings, and examples of programs that have used the given strategy.
- Health.gov — Physical Activity Guidelines for AmericansThe PAG provide science-based guidance to professionals about the amount and types of physical activity Americans need to be healthy.
- HealthyPeople2030 - Evidence-based interventions for physical activityEvidence-Based Resources, Clinical Recommendations, and Consumer Information related to physical activity.
- WHO — Interventions on Diet and Physical Activity: What WorksEvidence tables that summarize findings from 395 peer-reviewed publications on various diet and physical activity interventions. The evidence tables include information on intervention components, outcome measures (e.g. psychosocial and behavioral changes), policy implications, and references.
- Community Wide Interventions for Increasing Physical ActivityReview by the Cochrane Public Health Group: Philip RA Baker, Daniel P Francis, Jesus Soares, Alison L Weightman, Charles Foster
Data and statistics
- Physical Activity CouncilThe annual PAC study gets into a wide variety of related data when it comes to physical activity from demographics, participation in physical education at school and venue of play. The study also looks at participation over the generations as well as first time participation and frequency of play or participation. If you are looking for any data related to sports and recreational participation in America, this is the definitive go to source.
- NHIS — Adult Physical Activity StatisticsThis site has information about physical activity-related results from the National Health Interview Survey.
- CDC FastStats — Exercise and Physical ActivityThis page contains links to different health behavior-related datasets.
- California Health Interview Survey — AskCHISThis tool lets you query results from the California Health Interview Survey. You can look at variables related to exercise and physical activity. It's free to create an account.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Under the Health menu, choose Physical Activity.
Searching for research literature
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a very large database with records for millions of articles. It's easy to get overwhelmed! A great way to start your research is to take advantage of PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Try using the MeSH terms for Exercise or Physical Fitness, along with other relevant MeSH terms or keywords for your research topic. You can browse for MeSH terms in the MeSH database. When you find one that you want to use, click the button on the right that says "Add to search builder." When you're finished adding MeSH terms to your search, you can search PubMed using the "Search PubMed" button. Getting too many results? Try going back to MeSH and checking the box that says "Restrict to MeSH Major Topic." This will limit your search results to only the most relevant articles. Remember you can also use the filters on the left side of the PubMed results screen! Using the Article Type - Review filter is particularly helpful when you're starting your research.