Historic Magazines Online
Major digitization projects that include historic entertainment magazines previously unavailable online.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database. - People Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of the prominent, popular entertainment magazine dating from its very first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Vanity Fair Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents the popular magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first run from September 1913-1936, and relaunch from March 1983-October 2015. Chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture, politics, and more. - Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day.
Core Film and Television Studies Databases
These more specialized tools index journals core to the study of film and television, including more international and professional practice-focused journals and magazines.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases are good starting places for contemporary and some historical writing in periodicals. They tend to be wide in scope, but not necessarily deep in coverage, particularly for articles in foreign languages.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search platform for over 120 databases, from the AFI Catalog to Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Includes scholarly articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, as well as newspapers and dissertations. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America - MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with full text and indexing from reference works and magazines dating as far back as 1975. Includes biographies and several magazines of interest to media scholars, including TV Guide indexing.
- Google Books Advanced SearchPre-limit to magazines to search scanned popular press titles, including advertisements.
Entertainment Business and Law
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains current newspaper and some magazine articles, including some industry publications like Variety and Daily Variety. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text international newspapers and some industry magazines, including selected content of Hollywood Reporter. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Communication Studies Databases
Although more focused on the social sciences than on aesthetics or history, Communications journals often contain scholarship on media, including television, gaming, social media, and more.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field (includes television and new media).
- Communication Studies: Sage Full-Text Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Small full-text collection of communication studies journals, covering journalism, television, new media, and other topics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.