Resources by Ethnic Group
This page allows you to look at different information resources that pertain to specific ethnic groups affected by health disparity - African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic/Latinos, Native American/Alaskan Natives.
Resources for the African American Population
- African-American Studies GuideThis guide is intended to give UCLA students, staff and faculty interested in African American Studies resources an easy-to-use jumping off point for accessing UCLA Library materials, as well as other Internet resources.
Resources for the Asian American Population
- MedlinePlus: Asian American HealthExplore this health topic to find relevant health information particular to Asian American health.
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Demographic Data and Policy ResearchThis is a preliminary directory of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Other Pacific Islander public use health data. The AAPI Health Data database currently houses 90 online references, all sorted into topics ranging from cancer statistics to mortality rates
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Health Literature DatabaseThe AAPI Health Literature Database is comprised of 725 books, journal articles, and reports, each highlighting important factors affecting AAPI health.
Resources for the Hispanic/Latino Population
- Hispanic Health Care International: The Official Journal of the National Association of Hispanic NursesThis peer-reviewed journal serves as an interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of information for clinical practice, education, research, and policy on issues concerning Hispanic/Latino populations in the United States.
- Hispanic Journal of Behavioral SciencesThe Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences is multidisciplinary and comprehensive, providing coverage of relevant issues from the fields of Sociology, Anthropology, Psychology, Education, Linguistics, Public Health, Economics, and Political Science.
- MedlinePlus: Hispanic-American HealthFind links to health issues that affect Hispanic-Americans.
- Pew Hispanic CenterStatistics provided by a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
- National Council of La Raza (NCLR): Health and WellnessSupporting policies and developing programs to help Latinos live healthy lives no matter where they live, their economic circumstances, or their cultural background.
Resources for the Native American/Alaskan Native Population
- American Indian and Alaska native mental health research (Online)Exclusively about American Indian & Alaska Native health. A forum for work on the cause, assessment, epidemiology, treatment, & prevention of alcohol, drug, & mental health disorders & related phenomena among American Indians & Alaska Natives.
- American Indian and Alaska Native Health Research Advisory Council (HRAC)The HRAC Council was established to provide the Department of Health and Human Services a venue for consulting with Tribes about health research priorities and needs in AI/AN communities and collaborative approaches in addressing these issues and needs.
- National Library of Medicine: Native American HealthThis Web resource on American Indian Health, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to bring together health and medical resources pertinent to the American Indian population including policies, consumer health information, and research...
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- Native Health DatabasesThe Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 8,000 health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and...
General Reference
Research assistance for health disparities is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.