Quick Links
- Library HoursUCLA Library hours may change so be sure to check the website. The Page and Pick Up Service is now offered for regular circulating books only in the Arts Library that are stored in YRL.
- Research HelpSee various links to people and resources you can go to for help with your research.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)Many library materials, archives, and manuscript collections are housed in the SRLF, a climate-controlled environment designed to preserve them. Materials can be retrieved for use in campus libraries or to be checked out.
- UCLA Schedule of ClassesUCLA Schedule of Classes is archived online from 1997.
- CLICC (Campus Library Instructional Computing Commons)CLICC offers technology and support for UCLA students, faculty, and staff--such as laptop/iPad lending, study room and library classroom reservations, computer stations, and a wide variety of instructional software through the CLICC Virtual Desktop.
Welcome to the African American Studies Research Guide
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reference books, monographs, primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics concerning African American history and culture. Contains over 4,000 interviews with former slaves; 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes access to the African American Classics collection from California Newsreel. - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of non-fiction published prose and oratory by leading African Americans. Writing is focused on research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. - Umbra: Search African American History This link opens in a new windowFree digital platform that brings together primary source content from numerous cultural institutions documenting African American history and culture. Includes images, text, sound, video, and physical objects.
General Article Databases
These key databases will give you broad access to journal articles and citations across a number of fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.