General Web Resources
- MedlinePlus: Health DisparitiesMedline Plus provides a general overview of information related to health disparities with links to additional resources and literature.
- US Dept. of Health and Human Services Office of Minority HealthThe nation's largest repository of information on health disparities issues. The mission of the Office of Minority Health is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
- CDC Office of Minority Health & Health DisparitiesThe Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (OMHD) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations...
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Minority Health Fact SheetsBrowse AHRQ's recent findings, research initiatives, and different activities relating to minority health disparities.
- US Census Bureau: Minority LinksQuick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States.
Resources for Specific Diseases
CDC Health Disparities
Article Databases
or 
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities.
- Minority Health and Health Equity ArchiveAn electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Journals
These titles are a few of the journals the UCLA Library has access to for the subject mater of health disparities. More journals on issues related to health disparities can be found through the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Journal of Health Care for the Poor and UnderservedJournal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved (JHCPU) is a peer-reviewed journal focusing on contemporary health care issues of medically underserved communities.
- Ethnicity & HealthEthnicity & Health is an international academic journal designed to meet the world-wide interest in the health of ethnic groups. Library only owns up until 2007 and does not have a current subscription.
- American Journal of Public HealthOriginal work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health.
- Social Science & MedicineCovers all areas of common interest to social scientists, health practitioners and policy makers. Publishes material relevant to any aspect of health from a wide range of social science disciplines...
- AIDS and BehaviorCovers the neurobehavioral factors in the initial spread, behavioral consequences, social impact and response to HIV infection. Iincludes: individual cultural social economic and geographic factors...
- Journal of Health, Population and NutritionInternational health, nutrition, population, maternal health, child health, family health.
- Closing the Gap (Washington, D.C.)Closing the Gap is a monthly newsletter from the Office of Minority Health. Each issue is devoted to a specific health topic of concern to minority communities. Publication ends in 2004.