Skip to main content

East-West Medicine Resources

Provided by UCLA Library and the Center for East-West Medicine

Integrative Medicine

Print items listed with call numbers are located in the General Stacks of the UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library unless otherwise indicated. Please ask at the reference desk if you are unable to find any of the materials.

Acupuncture

The print materials below can be found at the Biomedical Library Reference or General Stacks, and the East Asian Library Reference Stacks.

  • Practice of Acupuncture : Point Location, Treatment Options, TCM Basics - Hans-Ulrich Hecker ... [et al.]
Call Number: WB 39 L524p 2005
Location: Biomedical Library General Stacks
  • A Chinese-English Dictionary of Acupuncture & Moxibustion 汉英双解针灸大辞典 - 石学敏 Zhang Meng-chen
Call Number: RM184 .H267 1998 Ref.
Location: East Asian Library Reference Stacks
  • Chinese-English Dictionary of Acupuncture and Moxibustion 汉英针灸辞典 - Wang Hua 王华
Call Number: Ref. RM184 .H266 1992
Location: East Asian Library Reference Stacks 
  • Acupuncture and Moxibustion : A Handbook for the Barefoot Doctors of China  / translated by Martin Elliot Silverstein, I-Lok Chang, and Nathaniel Macon.
Call Number: WB 369 H773c 1975
Location: Biomeidcal Library General Stacks
  • An Introduction to Acupuncture : A Practical Guide for GPs and Other Medical Personnel /  Peter Pearson.
Call Number: WB 369 P362i 1987
Biomedical Library General Stacks
  • Acupuncture & Electro-Therapeutics Research: an international forum for the exchange of ideas and promotion of basic and clinical research in acupuncture, electro-therapeutics, and related fields.
Call Number: W1 AC999T
Location: Biomedical Library General Stacks; Current issues in Current Journals
  • American Journal of Acupuncture: has been providing solutions spanning the diverse range of traditional and modern acupuncture & energy medicine since 1973.
Call Number: W1 AM468
Location: Biomedical Library General Stacks
  • Chinese Acupuncture & Moxibustion Zhongguo zhen jiu = Chinese acupuncture & moxibustion = 中国针灸
Call Number: RM184 .C575
Location: East Asian Library Display Area Current Journals, SRLF for older issues.
  • ACUBASE (French) A French-based database including 20000 references in acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine.
  • Cosmetic acupuncture: a traditional Chinese medicine approach to cosmetic and dermatological problems - Radha Thambirajah
Call Number: WB 369 T366c 2009
Location: Biomedical Library

Medicinal Plants

Other Books

  • Chinese medical qigong 
    editor in chief, Tianjun Liu
    Call number: WB 543 C539 2010 (Biomed Library)

  • Pulse diagnosis in early Chinese medicine: the telling touch
    by Elisabeth Hsu.  
    Call number: RC74 .H74 2010 (YRL)

  • The practice of Chinese medicine: the treatment of diseases with acupuncture and Chinese herbs
    by Giovanni Maciocia ; foreword by Steve Clavey; 2nd ed.
    Call number: WB 50.1 M152p 2008 (Biomed Library)

  • Herbal Medicine

    Print items listed with call numbers are located in the Reference Stacks of the UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library (behind the elevators on the 1st floor) unless otherwise indicated. Please ask at the reference desk if you are unable to find any of the materials.

    • An Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica -  Wu, Jing-Nuan .  Call number: QV 717 W959i 2005
       
    • Evidence-based Herbal Medicine - edited by Michael Rotblatt and Irwin Ziment. Call number: WB 925 E93 2001
       
    • Herbal Medicines - Joanne Barnes, Linda A. Anderson, J. David Phillipson. Call number: WB 925 B261h 2007
       
    • China Journal of Chinese Materia Medica (zhong guo zhong yao za zhi). Call number: W1 Ch978 (Biomedical Library Stacks; Current issues in Current Journals)
       
    • Chinese Herbal Medicine: Materia Medica -  Bensky, Dan, and Gamble, Andrew .  Call number: QV 770 JC6 B474c 1993
       
    • Pharmacopoeia of the People's Republic of China v. 1-2  - State Pharmacopoeia Commission of PRC . Call number: QV 738 JC6 P536 2000 
       
    • Chinese and Related North American Herbs: Phytopharmacology and Therapeutic Values -  Li, Thomas S - C ,  Call number: QV 770 JC6 L693c 2002
       
    • Healing with Whole Foods: Asian Traditions and Modern Nutrition -  Pitchford, Paul .  Call number: QU 145 P682h 2002
       
    • Chinese Herb Medicine and Therapy -  Hsu, Hung-yuan .  Call number: QV 767 H873c 1994 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)
       
    • Highly Efficacious Chinese Patent Medicines : English-Chinese - Zhang Enqin. Call number: QV 772 C559 1990 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)
       
    • Interactions Between Chinese Herbal Medicinal Products and Orthodox Drugs -  Chan, Kelvin, and Cheung, Lily .   Call number: QV 767 C454i 2000 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)
       
    • Natural Pharmacy: Complete A-Z Reference to Natural Treatments for Common Health Conditions -  Gaby, Alan R - , editor .  Call number: WB 935 N285 2006
       
    • Outline Guide to Chinese Herbal Patent Medicines in Pill Form: With Sample Pictures of the Boxes: An Introduction to Chinese Herbal Medicines -  Naeser, Margaret A .   Call number: QV 739 N144o 1990
       
    • PDR for Herbal Medicines. Call Number: QV 766 P348 (All but the latest edition shelved in the Biomedical Library General Stacks)
       
    • The Chinese Herbalist's Handbook -  Ehling, Dagmar . Call number: QV 735 E33c 1996 
       
    • The Healing Power of Chinese Herbs and Medicinal Recipes -   Hou, Joseph P - , and Jin, Youyu .  Call number: QV 760 H835h 2005
       
    • The Pharmacology of Chinese Herbs -  Huang, K . C .  Call number: QV 770 JC6 H835p 1999 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)
       
    • Traditional Chinese Medicines: Molecular Structures, Natural Sources, and Applications -  Yan, Xinjian, Zhou, Jiaju, and Xie, Guirong .  Call number: QV 740 JC6 Y21t 1999
       
    • Dietary Supplements Labels Database
      Information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements offered by National Library of Medicine.
       
    • Herbs and Supplements, A-Z
      A list by National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus
       
    • MedlinePlus: Herbal Medicine
       
    • International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) 
      provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements.
       
    • An illustrated herbal
      Contains a compilation of around 500 plants and their corresponding therapeutic properties for everyday use.
       
    • What is an herb?
      An online exhibit that highlights four herbals that are milestones in the history of Western herbal medicine:

    CAM for Cancer

    Print items listed with call numbers are located in the Reference Stacks of the UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library (behind the elevators on the 1st floor) unless otherwise indicated. Please ask at the reference desk if you are unable to find any of the materials.

    • Integrative Oncology : Incorporating Complementary Medicine into Conventional Cancer Care -  Lorenzo Cohen and Maurie Markman. Call number: QZ 266 I5689 2008 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)

    • Traditional, Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Cancer Care : An International Analysis of Grassroots Integration - Philip Tovey, John Chatwin and Alex Broom.  Call Number: QZ 266 T736t 2007 (Biomedical Library General Stacks)

    • An International Resource Guide to Alternative Therapy Centers for Treating and Preventing Cancer, Arthritis, Diabetes, HIV/AIDS, MS, CFS, and Other Diseases - Fink, John M. Third Opinion  Call Number: QZ 22.1 F499t 2005

    • Integrative Nutritional Therapies for Cancer - Kumar, Nagi B., et al. 
      Call Number: QZ 201 K965i 2002

    • Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine  
      Health information, clinical trials and research on cancer complenmentary and alternative medicine

    • Cancer Alternative Therapies
      From MedlinePlus by National Library of Medicine

    • Journal of the Society for Integrative Oncology
      Selected article text for Oct 2007- Academic search complete.

    • Unconventional cancer treatments 
      A government publication by U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, Unconventional Cancer Treatments, OTA-H-405 (Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, September 1990).

    • Integrative Cancer Therapies
      v.1(2002)- Sage. Restricted to UC campuses

    • Supportive cancer care with Chinese medicine
      William C.S. Cho, editor (Dordrecht ; London : Springer, c2010)