General Reference
Research assistance in East-West Medicine is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library.
See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Translation Tools
Using Databases
You can always contact the Biomedical Library to get help in searching databases.
... or use one of these tutorials for specific databases
- EBSCOhost Basic SearchUsed for CINAHL Plus.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of the applied life sciences including: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
Evidence Based Information
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews.
- National Guideline Clearing HouseA public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- Natural Standard : the Authority on Integrative MedicineProvides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
Clinical Information
- Clinical Information System(Zhong Yi Lin Chuan Shu Ju Ku 中医临床数据库)
Information on various diseases and conditions treated with traditional Chinese medical therapies provided by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, CACMS in Chinese. - National Guideline ClearinghouseA public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- ClinicalTrials.govProvides patients, family members and members of the public with current information about clinical research studies.
- UpToDateOffers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers.
- Faculty of 1000 MedicineBased on the recommendations of a selected faculty of nearly 2500 leading international researchers and clinicians, this database systematically highlights and reviews the most pertinent papers in any field of medicine.
Journal Article Indexes
- ACUBASE (French)A French-based database including 20000 references in acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine.
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology.
- CAM on PubMedA subset of NLM's PubMed, which provides access to citations on complementary and alternative medicine from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text
- China Online Journals (COJ) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals from China. Divided into subject specializations. 6,462 Periodicals (as of July 2010). - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Global Health, a public health database emphasizing international health issues.
- HKInChiP (Chinese)Index for articles in more than 150 periodicals published in Hong Kong since 1990, with some titles as early as the 1950s, in current events, economics, politics, the social sciences, and Chinese medicine.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)(Chinese) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical and life science, and social science.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
E-books
- Duxiu This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In all subjects and formats, books, journal articles, conference papers, and video clips. Chinese publications from the early the 1930s to the present.. End users receive contents through online requests; delivered electronically to end users' specified email account within 2 hours. Please note that depending upon different publications' copyright restrictions, not all resources found in Duxiu have the same level of content access.