Finding Information Using Databases
To find a journal, newspaper article, or other information on your topic, use economic and business databases. You can locate them by going to the library's electronic resources database and looking up databases by subject area. Click on Social Sciences, then Economics. A list of economics-related article databases will be displayed. Most web-based databases are available for remote use by UCLA students, faculty, and staff by using the Bruin Online Proxy Server. With this guide, you can find information using articles, newspapers, and factual databases.
Assessment Research Tools
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 international publishers.
- Publish or PerishPublish or Perish is designed to empower individual academics to present their case for research impact to its best advantage.
Style Manuals and Guides
- Guidance and Resources for Data Management PlanUniversity of California Curation Center
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate Turabian (9th ed)Student-friendly print guide to Chicago Style. Older editions available for loan.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Business, Economic and Labour History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical sources from Britain and America, covering key subjects such as Keynesian economic policy in post-war Britain; international labour movements; the London Stock Exchange; and the papers of important economists. Includes a complete run of the Stock Exchange Official Year-book for 1875-1945 and working papers of John Maynard Keynes and his private office during his second period of service at the Treasury. - EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit corresponds to the printed Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles covering journal articles, books and dissertations, articles in collective works and conference proceedings. In addition, EconLit includes Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics from Cambridge University Press database, and, since 1994, the full-text of the Journal of Economic Literature book reviews. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of financial & economic data provides current & historical data series for 200 countries. Dating to the 1500s for interest rates, exchange rates, stock market indices, commodity prices & total returns on stocks, bonds & bills from every major market in the world. Databases the Global Financial Database, Long-Term Financial Db, Interest Rate Db, U.S. Daily Stock Market Db, Global Stock Market Db, Total Return Db, Annual Database Collection & Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday Data.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Bureau of Economic Research is the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. It has a large collection of working papers and some public use data. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities. Provides cited reference searching. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review.
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - American EconomistAn academic journal of the International Honor Society in Economics.
- American Journal of Agricultural EconomicsCovers the economics of agriculture, natural resources and the environment, and rural and community development.
- Aquaculture Economics & ManagementOfficial journal of the International Association of Aquaculture Economics and Management.
- Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.
Factual Information
- Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Data from Zillow, Factset Corporate Fundamentals, US Stock Market Prices, and selected international market indices and exchanges. - CEICdata: Global Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global economic data, including normalized GDP, CPI, imports, exports, retail sales, and interest rates. Optional registration allows personalization, but "guest access" (plus authentication) provides access to UCLA's subscription, which consists of these two modules: the Global Database and the High Frequency Database.
- EMIS Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current country, company, industry, economic, and legal information for over 80 emerging markets in Asia, Australia, Central, Eastern, Southeastern Europe, and the Middle East/North Africa. Country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, analysis, reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; legal information; and business news. Documents from more than 13,000 local and global providers. Dates of coverage vary; updates are daily. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of financial & economic data provides current & historical data series for 200 countries. Dating to the 1500s for interest rates, exchange rates, stock market indices, commodity prices & total returns on stocks, bonds & bills from every major market in the world. Databases the Global Financial Database, Long-Term Financial Db, Interest Rate Db, U.S. Daily Stock Market Db, Global Stock Market Db, Total Return Db, Annual Database Collection & Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday Data.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online library of e-books, e-periodicals, and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). - ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- SEDLACSocioeconomic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean
- Global FindexDatabase from the World Bank has statistics by individual characteristics, country, and region on financial inclusion (deposits, withdrawals, payments, savings, credit cards, loans, health insurance, and agricultural insurance).
- IMF Data and StatisticsEconomic data provided by the International Monetary Fund.
- ICRG (International country risk guide) Researcher's Datasets Table 3 B Political RiskIncludes international country risk group (ICRG) political risk data for 140 countries, monthly from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting. The ICRG risk data include measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. The political risk forecasting section (PRS) provides country ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, trade restrictions, and domestic economic problems. You will need to login with your UCLA ID and password to access this database.
- OECD StatCountry Statistical Profiles from 2001-2012.
- World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog with links to data products from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators (WDI).
- Country Statistical YearbooksResearch guide from the University of Wisconsin
- Institute Nacional de Estadistica y Geografia (INEG) MexicoIt is a very rich website and you can get a large variety of datasets with a wide variety of variables, for a range of years, downloadable as xml files. Down to the municipality level for a lot of data. It helps to know Spanish
- List of Foreign GovernmentsResearch guide from the Northwestern University Library
- Monthly bulletin of statistics (United Nations. Statistical Division)SRLF 1992-2003
YRL HC57.M76 1993-2009 - UN Data ExplorerThe entry point the United Nation's statistical databases. Covers a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, and Trade.
- UNESCO DataContains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. Collected from more than 200 countries and international organizations.
- UN Monthly Bulletin of StatisticsThe Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 12 tables of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, price indices, transport, and international merchandise trade.
- FocusEconomicsEconomic Forecasts from the World's Leading Economists
- Groningen Growth and Development CentreThe Groningen Growth and Development Centre was founded within the Economics Department of the University of Groningen by a group of researchers working on comparative analysis of levels of economic performance and differences in growth rates.
- International Data SourcesFrom the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes foreign currency exchange rates, U.S. trade and international transactions data and global economic indicators, etc.
- The World Top Incomes DatabaseThe WTID provides access to current and in progress series studying the distribution of top incomes in various countries. The database uses data gathered from income tax records and covers a wider range of years than most other databases.
- EH.netEconomic history data
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis - Economic Data SeriesSee also Liber8, an economic information portal.
- NBER Macro DataThe NBER is the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. It has a large collection of working papers and some public use data.
- US Department of the TreasuryThe Treasury Department doesn't have a central statistical office, so be sure to look through the various sub-agencies to find the many statistical reports available.
Newspapers, Magazines, and Reports
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.
- Financial times (London, England)Providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- IMF Reports and PublicationsArranged by Country.
- UNESCO PublicationsInternationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
- World Bank Documents and ReportsAn official disclosure mechanism for the World Bank Group’s final reports. Contains final and official documents and reports from 1946 through the present, including board documents, country focus, economic and sector work, project documents, and publications and research.
Historical Newspapers available online
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. - Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. - Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Peterson Institute for International EconomicsThe Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE) is an independent nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to strengthening prosperity and human welfare in the global economy through expert analysis and practical policy solutions. Publications include policy briefs and working papers.