Architecture Article Indexes & Databases
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present. - Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Online Catalogue This link opens in a new windowDetails of books and audiovisual materials acquired by the RIBA Library (main professional architecture Library in the UK) and articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals. Includes Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects.
- Architecture Library — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. - Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art and Architecture Archive offers an
amazing array of titles, including Architectural Review, British Journal of Photography, Graphis, Print,
and many others previously unavailable in digital form, scanned cover to cover as full-page color
images, with searchable text and article level indexing. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
Depending on your research topic, you might also find that some of the following databases include relevant information.
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Année Philologique sur l'Internet
- This link opens in a new window
Corresponds to the printed L'Année Philologique, an international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and all aspects of classical studies. Includes records from 1949 to the present. 1,500 periodicals are analyzed each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Includes classical Greek and Roman architecture.
- Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers magazine issues from 1922-2011. This archive edition covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. Also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide.
- Art and Archaeology Technical AbstractsAbstracts articles from over 400 leading journals relevant to the international conservation field, as well as books and technical reports. Includes topics related to the preservation and conservation of art, architecture, and material cultural heritage. This system is free, but requires the individual user to register to take full advantage of searching options. Includes historic preservation and analysis of historic building materials.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,144 journals and relevant items from more than 6,800 science and social sciences journals. All cited references are captured, allowing searching for articles that cite a known author or work. The default is for searching all three citation databases simultaneously (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), but you can also limit your search to a particular index.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowPublished by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to 2009. It is continued by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
- Building Green This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings. - Building Types Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Case studies and information about building typologies. Includes high quality architectural drawings (many vector-based) and photographs for an international collection of contemporary buildings. Updated annually.
- Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Disciplines include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day. - DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project documentation (detailed architectural drawings, sketches, and photographs) from more than 55 years of DETAIL: Zeitschrift für Architektur & Baudetail & Einrichtung and other DETAIL publications including Structure and DETAIL Green. Updated regularly with all of the projects published in current DETAIL issues. - DYABOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. CHECK THE BOX "ACTIVATE IP ACCESS" before clicking on the start button. Three databases are licensed:
1. Archäologische Bibliographie: references monographs, articles and reviews on Classical Archaeology, Etruscology, Minoan Archaeology, and Prehistory.
2. Monographien der Bibliographie zur Vor- und Frühgeschichte Europas (RGK), 1992-2006;
3. Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. Also contains access to Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. - Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Previously known as Index of Christian Art, this database indexes medieval art in books, manuscripts, and photographs (Princeton University). Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Focuses on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc. Search for musical instruments, musical notation, other music-related terms using Find searches.
- Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing 42 art journals published in the United States during the 19th century, this database thoroughly covers articles, art notes, stories, illustrations, poems and advertisements from these periodicals. Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration and collecting, making it an invaluable resource for art history research, as well as a valuable source of information on popular culture and industry. - International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and covers from 2008 to the present. Contains some retrospective coverage, but for comprehensive research before 2008 it is essential to use BHA. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. - Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of new and innovative building materials. Use the "Advanced Search" to search for materials according to specific criteria or attributes.
- OpenBibArt: History of Art Bibliography in Open AccessCovers Western art only. Bibliographical references from the Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie and from the Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art produced by INIST-CNRS.
- Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)PCAD contains information regarding the buildings and desigeners of California, Oregon, and Washington. Building records contain information about their creators (when possible) and includes historical and geographic information in addition to images when available.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- US Modernist Library
This link opens in a new window
The "world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines, with over 3 million downloadable pages - all free to access."
These interdisciplinary databases can also help you research architecture and urban design topics.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with major works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- AggregateAn online platform to support the production, peer review, publication and discussion of innovative scholarship in architectural history.
- Getty Research PortalOnline search platform with access to digitized art history texts in the public domain (including art, architecture, material culture, and related fields).