Librarian for Public Policy & Urban Planning
News Databases
Need to get the latest news or articles? Use these databases to access local, state, national and international news sources.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Contains articles from as early as 1983, but the bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports. - Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
Major Newspapers
Access to Library Licensed versions of key newspapers.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
Historical News Sources
These are databases of online historical newspapers. The Library has numerous newspapers in print and microfilm as well. Consult the Library Catalog if you are looking for a particular title.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Thousands of fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Series One covers 1690-1876, and Series Two includes 1690-1900.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
Los Angeles Blogs
Online News Radio
- KPCC 89.3 FM, Southern California Public Radio (SCPR)Very good coverage of Los Angeles politics and culture.
- KPFK 90.7 FMLos Angeles Pacifica radio station
- KNX 1070 AM NewsradioCoverage for Los Angeles and Orange Counties
Slate.com
- Today's PapersA summary of what is in the major U.S. Newspapers
- News & PoliticsNews Articles on current issues
New York Times: Washington News
Government News Sources
- GCN Government Computer NewsNews about all things Tech and the Government. Includes links to recent government reports on topics like cloud computing, data centers, pda's.
- Federal Computer WeekNews, special reports, white papers on government IT.
- The HillPublished daily while congress is in session. LexisNexis Congressional has full text coverage back to 1995.
CDT PolicyBeta
Center for Democracy and Technology is a non-profit public interest organization working to keep the Internet open, innovative, and free.