How Can I Cite?
What?
Using the author’s exact words
How?
Use “quotation marks” to mark someone else’s words
Why?
- To support or add credibility to your arguments.
- When the original is difficult to rephrase.
- When original wording is great!
Source: Caravello, P. (n.d.). Avoiding Plagiarism: Strategies & Resources. Presentation.
What?
Condensed/distilled version of the author’s words or ideas
Why?
- To include only main points of the original text
Tip:
A summary is shorter than a paraphrase and covers main points only.
Source: Caravello, P. (n.d.). Avoiding Plagiarism: Strategies & Resources. Presentation.
What?
- Restating, in your own words, the author’s words or ideas
Why?
- To simplify or clarify the original text
- To demonstrate comprehension of original source
Paraphrasing Tips:
- Rewrite it using your own words
- Rewrite it using your own sentence structure
- Quote distinctive words or phrases taken from the original source
- Accurately represent the author
- Always cite the source of your information
Source: Caravello, P. (n.d.). Avoiding Plagiarism: Strategies & Resources. Presentation.
Oops! I Plagiarized?
Source: Swartz, P. (2012). "Oops, I plagiarized." Bruin Success with Less Stress. Retrieved on August 5, 2021 from https://bit.ly/3zWY0y4
Plagiarism is the presentation of another’s words or ideas as if they were your own without giving credit to the other person, including but not limited to:
- Purchasing a paper on-line and submitting it as your own
- Copying your roommate’s paper (or parts of it) and submitting it as your own
- Paraphrasing ideas, data or writing from someone else’s work without properly acknowledging the original source
- Unauthorized transfer and use of another person’s computer file as your own.
Source: UCLA Office of the Dean of Students’ Academic Integrity. Retrieved from (https://bit.ly/3xi4nKi) on August 5, 2021.
Online Guides To Use the Chicago Style Manual
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition (2017), is a useful guide for UCLA Anderson students to cite sources they use in course projects. Please refer to the Documentary-Note format provided in the Manual.
Consult the online examples below for more info or contact a Business Research Librarian for further assistance.
- Citing Business Sources
Examples in Chicago style, from the Rosenfeld Library. - Harvard Business School Citation Guide
Harvard B-School's very complete guide in pdf, with specific business citation examples in Chicago Style. Updated annually by Baker Library, Harvard University. - California State University, Dominguez Hills - About Chicago Style
Citing sources examples in Chicago style, provided by CSU Dominguez Hills. - University of Maryland's Global Campus
More online examples, citing sources in the text of your paper (Documentary-Note) and the references (Bibliography) forms.
Citation: A Very Brief Introduction
Start by watching this video ...
When Should You Cite?
- When you use the author’s exact words
- When you summarize someone else’s words
- When you read someone else's words and write it in your own words
- Anything which is not your OWN original thought
- Facts that are not common knowledge
- When in doubt, CITE!
Why is Citing Important?
- To add credibility and support for your ideas!
- To ensure the accuracy of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
- To protect intellectual property rights.
References
Caravello, P. (n.d.). Avoiding Plagiarism: Strategies & Resources.
Presentation.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.
(2020). Washington, DC: APA, p. 348.
Online Citation Wizards
EndNote.
UCLA subscription, allows you to import citations from websites and databases, store them, then export citations in Chicago citation style. Requires account creation with Clarivate Analytics.
KnightCite.
Select "Chicago" and populate with citation elements to cite sources for your Bibliography (only). Does NOT generate Notes citations. BOTH Notes and Bibliography listings are needed for project work!
NoodleBib Express.
NoodleBib provides both the Notes form of your citation and the Bibliography form!
ZoteroBib.
Input your citation style, then scoop up document pages or identifiers toi form your citation list. Fast and easy, no account necessary!
Online Guides for Courses Using the MLA Style Manual
The MLA Handbook, 9th ed. (2020), by the Modern Language Association. Example of a useful guide for UCLA students to cite sources used in course projects.
See UCLA Library's Citing Sources Research Guide for more info or help with MLA or other styles and see examples here.
- EasyBib: Your Online Writing Hub
Create citations from the EasyBib online tool. - MLA Citation Examples
Online examples, showing how to cite sources in the text of your paper and for references (Bibliography), from the University of Maryland. - OWL at Purdue: MLA Formatting & Style Guide
Examples in MLA style, from the Writing Lab at Purdue University.