Government Data
American Time Use Survey
Provides information about the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Various types of employment-related data for U.S. regions, states, and local areas; from U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Census Data
Access to a variety of data, at the city, county, and state level for the USA, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas; obtained from many different surveys and censuses; from Census.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Data providing info on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics; from the BLS and Census.
County Business Patterns
Economic data organized by industry; can be used for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets, from Census.
State and County Quick Facts
A variety of data regarding people, businesses, and geography, at the city, county, and state level for the United States, from Census.
Library Catalogs
The catalog of library items,
both print and online,
owned by the 10 UC Campus Libraries.
After search, SELECT: Available Online at UCLA
EXAMPLE SEARCHES
Subject
Branding
Consumer behavior
Consumer behavior — United States
Consumers — Preferences
Crowd funding
Digital media — Social aspects
Generation Y
Industrial design
Internet marketing
Market research
New products
New products--Marketing
Product design
Social media
Social networks
Target marketing
Viral marketing
Web applications — Internet marketing
Keywords
"Gen* Z" market*
Catalog of books, periodicals, recordings, visual materials, and maps held in libraries worldwide. Students local to UCLA may use the Interlibrary Loan Service at the UCLA Library to request sources found in WorldCAT libraries (also, in any non-UCLA Library). Subject headings above may be used when searching WorldCAT.
Example Online Books Linked from the UCLA Catalog
American Attitudes: Who Thinks What About the Issues that Shape Our Lives, 7th ed., edited by ISBN: 1940308305Online book, from New Strategist, 2014, 484 pages.
"Find out what Americans think about hundreds of topics ranging from premarital sex to global warming, all broken out by the demographics that shape perspective. Especially valuable are the comparisons of how attitudes have changed since 1996."
American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping.ISBN: 1940308275Online book, from New Strategist, 2013, 384 pages.
Based on data collected from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this guide presents 2010 weekly and quarterly spending data to help businesses analyze buying patterns, manage expectations, and set prices. It features the percentage of households that buy individual products and services and how much buyers pay for them, all organized by demographics.American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money, edited by
ISBN: 9781940308371Online book, from New Strategist, 443 pages.
The 9th edition of American Incomes explores the economic status of Americans and provides the latest data on the wealth of American households. Examines household income trends by age, household type, race and ethnicity, education, region of residence, and work status; also focuses on the poverty population.
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns, 11th ed., edited by ISBN: 9781940308357Date: 2014Online book, from New Strategist.
Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.
Handbook of the Sharing Economy, by ISBN: 9781788110549Date: 2019Online book, from Edward Elgar.
With the radical growth in the ubiquity of digital platforms, the sharing economy is here to stay. This Handbook explores the nature and direction of the sharing economy, interrogating its key dynamics and evolution over the past decade and critiquing its effect on society.
Tell Me About Yourself: Personal Branding and Social Media Recruiting in the Brave New Online World, by ISBN: 9781631575235Date: 2019Online book, from Business Expert Press.
What is branding and what makes people passionate about it? How can people develop and maintain a unique online persona? Who are the current trendsetters in personal branding? What makes social recruiting so important in today's business world, and why is it necessary to set up a personal brand strategy early on? This book will help you understand how social media recruitment works and encourages you to take personal branding toward professional career development seriously.
Consumers and Demographics
 |
Data USA Website providing visualizations of public data for locations, industries, occupations, degrees, universities, and products and services; by Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo of MIT. |
 |
Data.Census.gov |
 |
eMarketer |
 |
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States |
 |
RKMA Market Research Handbooks |
 |
SimplyAnalytics |
 |
SRDS Advertising Publications |
 |
Survey of Consumer Finances Triennial cross-sectional survey of U.S. families, with families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics, related surveys of pension providers and earlier surveys conducted by the Federal Reserve Board. No other U.S. study has comparable information. |
Marketing Resources
 |
Claritas 360 |
|
eMarketer |
 |
Gartner |
 |
MarketResearch.com Academic |
 |
Policy Map |
|
SimplyAnalytics |
 |
Social Explorer |
Marketing Handbooks
Basics of Branding: A Practical Guide for Managers, by ISBN: 9781606495926Date: 2013Online book, from Business Expert Press.
Branding is all about creating a message or an impression that makes an impact and creates a rational and emotional connection with a customer. Forming a bond of trust and comfort will build brand equity (i.e., how people value your brand) and customer loyalty. In our dynamic, transformative global economy with mind-boggling advances in technology. Managers today can easily become preoccupied with social media vehicles and the innovative features of electronic devices, and neglect the importance of the content or the message. Adhering to the core elements of positioning and branding will help them develop more emotionally rich and powerful content.
Generation Share: : The Change-Makers Building the Sharing Economy, by ISBN: 9781447350101Date: 2019Online book, from JSTOR.
The rising economic inequality that followed the worldwide recessions of the late 2000s led many to question the prevailing modes of capitalism that brought about this state of affairs. Innovative forms of wealth redistribution have sprung up around the world in response, some fueled by anger and despair, others by hope and good will. In this book, Benita Matofska tells the story of one of the simplest, yet most revolutionary, of these new methods: Sharing. Generation Share builds on the foundations Matofska laid in her successful TED talk, taking readers on a global journey to meet the inspiring people building this new "sharing economy."
Handbook of Marketing Decision Models, 2nd ed., by ISBN: 9780387782133Date: 2017Online book, from SpringerLink database.
Recent developments in marketing models have been incredibly fast with information technology (e.g., the Internet), online marketing (e-commerce) and customer relationship management (CRM) creating radical changes in the way companies interact with their customers. This has created completely new breeds of marketing models, but major progress has also taken place in existing types of marketing models.Handbook of Marketing Decision Models presents the state of the art in marketing decision models. The book deals with new modeling areas, such as customer relationship management, customer value and online marketing, as well as recent developments in other advertising, sales promotions, sales management, and competition are dealt with. New developments are in consumer decision models, models for return on marketing, marketing management support systems, and in special techniques such as time series and neural nets.
The Handbook of Media Audiences, by ISBN: 9781444340525Date: 2011Online book, from the Wiley Online database,.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the complexity and diversity of audience studies in the advent of digital media. Details the study of audiences and how it is changing in relation to digital media. Recognizes and appreciates valuable traditional approaches and identifies how they can be applied to, and evolve with, the changing media world. Offers diverse perspectives from which being an audience, theorizing audiences, researching audiences, and doing audience research are approached today.
Handbook of Social Media Management: Value Chain and Business Models in Changing Media Markets, by ISBN: 9783642288975Date: 2014Online book, from SpringerLink database.
Social media management is on the agenda of every media company, and requires a new set of specialized expertise on digital products and communication. At the same time, social media has become a vibrant field of research for media economists and media management researchers. In this handbook, international experts present a comprehensive account of the latest developments in social media research and management, consistently linking classical media management with social media. The articles discuss new theoretical approaches as well as empirical findings and applications, yielding an interesting overview of interdisciplinary and international approaches. The book’s main sections address forms and content of social media and more, all in 889 pages.
Marketing to Gen Z, by ISBN: 9780814439289Date: 2018Online book, from O'Reilly.
Marketing to Gen Z wants to help you get ahead of the game when it comes to understanding and reaching this next generation of buyers. Generation Z blends the pragmatism and work ethic of older generations with the high ideals and digital prowess of youth. For brands, reaching this mobile-first and socially conscious cohort requires real change, not just tweaks to the Millennial plan. Businesses will have to learn how to: Get past the 8-second filter, avoid blatant advertising and tap influencer marketing, understand their language and off-beat humor, and offer the shopping experiences they expect. The book dives into and explains all this so that businesses may most effectively connect and converse with this emerging generation that comprised 40 percent of all consumers in 2020.
