Accessing Library Resources
There are direct links to
UC or UCLA-enabled resources.
IF . . .
- A link doesn't work (or to find more databases), see
- Business Databases by Name
OR - Business Databases by Category
on the Rosenfeld website (...and let us know if a link is broken!)
- Your UCLA VPN needs setting up, see instructions or IT Support
NAICS and SIC — Industry Classification Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Government coding system classifying industries, 1997-present.
- NAICS Code (example): 336411: Unmanned and Aerial Robotic Mfg.
NAICS code related to robotic mfg. from Bureau of the Census.
NAICS-SIC Conversion Tables
Conversion codes equating SIC and NAICS industries, provided by Logistics World.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
U. S. system of classifying industries, 1937-87; used today in some industry sources.
Sample E-Books found searching the UCLA Catalog: Technology, Apps, User Experience
Business Model Generation: A Handbook for Visionaries, Game Changers, and Challengers, by ISBN: 9780470876411Date: 2010Online book, from O'Reilly.
Handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation.
Innovation for Engineers: Developing Creative and Entrepreneurial Success, by ISBN: 9783319665283Date: 2018Online book, from SpringerLink.
The fundamentals of innovation reduced to practice and within the context of entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship. A new, fresh look at learning and practicing innovation at the individual level, based on scientific knowledge and in the context of the 21st Century. Written for engineering students and professionals; useful by those in other disciplines by adapting the engineering analogies.
The Lean Product Playbook: How to Innovate with Minimum Viable Products and Rapid Customer Feedback, by ISBN: 9781118960875Date: 2015Online book, from Wiley Online.
Practical guide to building products that customers love. Whether you work at a startup or a large, established company, building great products is hard. Most new products fail. This book helps improve your chances of building successful products through clear, step-by-step guidance and advice.
Measuring the User Experience, 2nd ed., by ISBN: 9780124157927Date: 2013Online book, from Science Direct.
Focuses on how to quantify the user experience. The 2nd edition includes info on how recent technologies have made it easier and more effective to collect a broader range of data about the user experience. New metrics include emotional engagement, personas, keystroke analysis, and net promoter score. Examines how new technologies coming from neuro-marketing and online market research can refine user experience measurement.
The Praxis of Product Design in Collaboration with Engineering, by ISBN: 9783319955001Date: 2018Online database, from SpringerLink database.
Reveals how a generative design process capitalizes on understanding humans in context to deliver appropriate innovation. A repertoire of design actions and output allows designers to work dynamically in order to create a cascade of new ideas and insights. The Design Matrix, a visual team tool, provides a prescriptive and descriptive guide enabling a range of users to work through a problem and also reflect on past decisions. Case studies from prior industry collaborative projects show the complexities and tensions that can be tackled through the design process and matrix.
Testing Business Ideas by ISBN: 9781119551447Date: 2020Online database, from Wiley.
Practical guide to effective business model testing. With 7 out of 10 new products failing to deliver on expectations, this book aims to reverse that statistic. Contains a library of hands-on techniques for rapidly testing new business ideas and explains how systematically testing business ideas dramatically reduces the risk and increases the likelihood of success for any new venture or business project.
Value Proposition Design: : How to Create Products and Services Customers Want, by ISBN: 9781118968055Date: 2015Online book, from O'Reilly.
The authors explain how to create value propositions customers can't resist. Helps you tackle the core challenge of every business -- creating compelling products and services customers want to buy. This highly practical book will teach you the processes and tools you need to create products that sell.
Industry
- IBISWorld Industry Research Reports This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research and risk ratings. UCLA subscription includes the US Industry Reports (NAICS); US Business Environment Profiles; US Industry iExpert Summaries; and US Specialized Industry Reports.
Newly Added Content (May 2023): US Business Environment State Profiles; US Industry State Reports; US Spotlight Industry Reports; US State Economic Profiles.
- Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.Use the search bar or browse by subject for US professional organizations and associations.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
- Procurement IQ This link opens in a new windowReports covering more than 1000 U.S. industries which provide a highly granular overview of the procurement process, to faciilitate supply chain planning and purchasing decisions. Reports provide analysis and data related to product or service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that influence purchasing decisions, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and strategies. Procurement IQ is a division of IBISWorld, the producer of U.S. and international industry reports which are also available at UCLA.
Market Databases
- Bizminer This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed financial and marketing data for some 16,000 lines of business in 300 national and local markets throughout the United States Find industry financials and ratios by keyword, industry group, or by industry classification code number (SIC or NAICS), or use keywords to drill down to an industry or segment..
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text market research reports covering major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial and advanced manufacturing (Business-to-Business), biotechnology, pharmaceutical, energy, environmental, and high technology organizations. Current subscription includes all 26 available report categories.
- eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Search and browse more than 27,000 records and 300,000 data points about the Internet and e-business. Also, Interactive Charts tool to see the latest data for over 30 different core metrics. Browsable categories include: Broadband, Wireless & Telecom, Consumers & B2C E-Commerce , Demographics & Usage, E-Business & IT, Government & Trade, Industries, Marketing & Advertising and Media & Entertainment.
- Gartner ResearchExpert opinion and research covering hardware and software; focus on business-2-business applications.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Searchable repository (aggregator) of over 3,000 full-text market research reports covering eight major subject areas: business services, consumer goods, demographics, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, public sector, and technology and media. The following market research firms are the contributors included in UCLA's subscription: Freedonia Focus; Kalorama Information; Mind Commerce; Packaged Facts; and Simba Information. To get to Freedonia Focus Reports, go to Advanced Search and click on the drop-down menu of Publishers.
- SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry; data includes consumer demographics, sports participation rates, online consumer buying patterns, sports attendance statistics, and international market surveys. Searchable, full text access to many sports business trade journals is also provided. (Also known as SBRNet: Sports Business Research Network.)
Citation Linker
UCLA's CITATION LINKER magically checks the online subscription resources to see if UCLA carries your: Journal Title, Journal Article, Book, Dissertation or Conference Proceeding,
linking to the source in its subscription database if it's available.
GIVE Citation Linker A TRY !!
Library Catalogs
The catalog of library items, both print and online,
owned by the 10 UC Campus Libraries.
After search, SELECT: Available Online at UCLA
EXAMPLE SEARCHES
Subject
Application software
Application software — Internet marketing
Design protection
Digital media — Social aspects
Diffusion of innovations
Entrepreneurship
Industrial design
Internet marketing
Mobile apps
New business enterprises
New products
New products — Management
Product design
Product management
Social media
Web applications — Internet marketing
Keywords
app* market*
Catalog of books, periodicals, recordings, visual materials, and maps held in libraries worldwide. Students local to UCLA may use the Interlibrary Loan Service at the UCLA Library to request sources found in WorldCAT libraries (also, in any non-UCLA Library). Subject headings above may be used when searching WorldCAT.
The PDMA Handbook of New Product Development, 3rd ed., by ISBN: 9780470648209Date: 2013Online book, from Wiley Online Library.
An exceptional review of cutting edge topics for both new and experienced product development leaders. Offers a comprehensive and updated guide to the practices, processes and tools critical to achieving and sustaining new product/service development; success in today's world, delivering valuable information about the fundamentals as well as emerging practices such as venturing, virtual product development and the use of social media in NPD. As the premier global advocate for professionals and organizations working in the fields of new product/service development, PDMA has assembled in the Handbook unique content on the critical aspects of product development success.
Technical Databases
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
A repository of fully searchable engineering content. Includes the latest editions of classics such as Marks; Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowThe complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Metals and metallurgy.
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowOffers access to the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including books, journals, and proceedings.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (Online) This link opens in a new windowCollection of standards and technical engineering information. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
The search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. Also contains access to Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards.
- Industry Standards Held at UCLALinks to Civil and Environmental Engineering guide.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of technical reference works and online tools for engineers.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new windowE-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.