Library 101 for Veterans

Relax every tenth and finals week with Stressbusters, a series of events such as healthy snacks, therapy dogs, chair massage, meditation, origami, and more! Stay up to date with events by following us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!
Check out our most recent virtual Stressbusters from Spring 2021 for an idea of what is to come! https://www.library.ucla.edu/events/virtual-stressbusters

Their mission is to support student development, empowerment and success through connection with dedicated clinicians who provide treatment that encourages Health, Healing and Hope.

Campus Assault and Resource Education (CARE) is committed to the eradication of sexual and gender-based violence through creating and sustaining a safe, healthy, and equitable community for all people. CARE strives to achieve this through provision of comprehensive prevention education, individual support and advocacy, and holistic healing programs for all members of the UCLA community.

It’s every Bruin’s responsibility to refer or reach out on behalf of students who are in distress or might harm themselves or others. We must work together to help keep our students and our campus safe.

Here are a few ways you can begin talking to a friend who you may be concerned about.

These are some applications and online tools that you can use for your daily life.

Resilience In Your Student Experience (RISE) is an affiliate program and physical extension of UCLA’s Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS). The RISE Center is a holistic wellness hub that provides an array of programs, classes, trainings, and self-directed resources to foster and support resilience, connection, and well-being for our UCLA community.

Academic Departments are a great way for you to stay connected with what's going on in your major and find out opportunities in your field.

The Career Center can help you in your journey towards finding a job that's perfect for you! They help you with your resume, interview skills, host career fairs and have training and leadership opportunities.

Since its founding in 1969, the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) has played a pivotal role in the development of scholarly research on the Chicano-Latino population, which is now the largest minority group in the United States. Our research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grants and fellowships program.

The UCLA American Indian Studies Center (AISC) was founded in 1969 as a research institute dedicated to addressing American Indian issues and supporting Native communities. The AISC serves as a hub of activities for Indigenous students, staff, faculty, alumni, and community, as well as serving as a bridge between the academy and indigenous peoples locally, nationally, and internationally.

Founded in 1969, the Asian American Studies Center has played a critical role in developing Southern California’s infrastructure of social service agencies, civil rights organizations, museums, historical societies, media and cultural groups, and business associations that serve and represent the Asian American and Pacific Islander population. The Center founded the UCLA Asian American Studies Department (the largest such department in the nation), established an outstanding research library, and published the country's leading research journal as well as hundreds of scholarly monographs.

The Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies was founded in 1969 as the Center for Afro-American Studies (CAAS). Bunche Center-supported research initiatives include the UCLA Black Male Institute; the Center for the Study of Racism, Social Justice & Health; the UCLA Prison Education Program; and our flagship project Million Dollar Hoods.

The Undergraduate Research Center for the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences serves all students in humanities, arts, social science, and behavioral science disciplines. We invite you to explore our website or drop by our office (A334 Murphy Hall) to find out more about our programs and services. We look forward to meeting you!

The Undergraduate Research Center – Sciences serves current UCLA undergraduates and faculty in all areas of the life and physical sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Our primary mission is to promote, develop, and celebrate undergraduate student research with the overall goal of enhancing undergraduate education and preparing students, including those from disadvantaged backgrounds, for academic and research careers. We invite you to explore our website to find out more about our programs and services. We look forward to meeting you!

The UCLA Bruin Resource Center (BRC) can enrich your experience by providing valuable resources, services and learning opportunities and by promoting a supportive and inclusive campus community. The BRC serves all UCLA students, with a particular focus on current and former foster youth, students with dependents, students in recovery, student veterans, transfer students, and undocumented students.

UCLA’s Center for Accessible Education (CAE) facilitates academic accommodations for regularly enrolled, matriculating students with disabilities. The CAE provides access to the numerous educational opportunities available to students on our campus and empowers students to realize their academic potential.

The UCLA Community Programs Office serves as an umbrella department for the Student Initiated Outreach Center, Student Retention Center, and twenty five student-initiated community service projects. The CPO strives to increase students from underserved communities' access to higher education, retention in the university, and graduation rates while also serving as a conscious effort in the community, working toward the empowerment of all people.

The purpose of Dashew Center programming is to provide opportunity for students, scholars, faculty, staff and friends to facilitate their cross-cultural learning, cultural adjustment, and language improvement, all while building friendships with people from across the globe. We offer a wide variety of programs, including trips around the greater Los Angeles area, discounted tickets to popular events, performances and tourist destinations, and on-campus events and workshops. We are excited to help you explore both Los Angeles and the world around you!

First To Go promotes campus involvement and visibility with a focus on the retention and success of all first-generation college students at UCLA. We are here to serve as a resource hub to assist current UCLA undergraduate students as they navigate the campus and provide support in building community. Being first-generation college is an accomplishment that should be celebrated!

This guide is dynamic and will be updated as new resources become available. It is intended to serve those interested in the illness caused by the novel coronavirus, CoViD-10, or SARS-CoV-2,

In January 2013, Chancellor Gene Block launched the UCLA Healthy Campus Initiative (HCI). Envisioned and supported by Jane and Terry Semel, the Healthy Campus Initiative prioritizes the health and wellness of students, staff, and faculty. It is a campus-wide effort to draw upon UCLA’s world/renowned research and teaching, to find new and innovative ways to promote healthy living on the UCLA campus, and to share that education and research with other communities, locally and beyond. The multi/pronged program is rooted in UCLA's long term commitment to fostering a culture of mental and physical health and wellness.

Bruin Shelter is a UCLA undergraduate volunteer organization that operates a shelter for students experiencing homelessness in the greater Los Angeles area. We believe deeply in the power of a diploma, re-examining assumptions about what homelessness means, and making a tangible difference in the community around us. Ultimately, Bruin Shelter is more than just a shelter - it is about providing a safe space for these individuals - a home and a family.

CSO (Community Service Officers) escorts are available free of charge to walk with students, faculty, staff or visitors 365 days a year from dusk until 1 a.m. between campus buildings, local living areas or Westwood Village within the approximate boundaries of Sunset Boulevard to the north, Hilgard to the east, Wilshire to the South, and Veteran to the west

The UCLA Safe Ride Service is the rebranding of the Evening Van Service and provides a safe means of transportation around campus during the evening hours. The vans provide transportation between campus buildings, on-campus housing and nearby residential areas. The service is free of charge and available to all UCLA students, staff, faculty and visitors. For added safety, the vans are driven by Community Service Officers (CSOs) who carry two-way radios, providing a direct link to the UCLA Police Department.

List of resources that students have access to, both on and off campus.

The Food Closet provides food for students who are experiencing food insecurities.

We provide confidential* legal counseling and assistance regarding a wide range of legal issues to all currently registered and enrolled UCLA students. We are able to help students with a variety of problems, including: Landlord/Tenant Relations, Accident and Injury Problems, Domestic Violence and Harassment, Criminal Matters, Immigration, Divorces and Other Family Law Matter, Automobile Purchases, Credit, Collections, and Financial Issues, Employment Matters, and Health Care and Consumer Problems.
We also frequently assist students with issues they have with other UCLA departments in such areas as housing, financial aid, harassment, discrimination, ADA compliance, student discipline, and faculty misconduct. We give students the information they need to assess their options and, in appropriate cases, will negotiate on behalf of the student, as well as draft letters and legal documents for the student. Students may make a an appointment by telephone or in person, and there is a $10 fee for the initial one-hour consultation with an experienced attorney. The office is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The Economic Crisis Response Team (ECR TEAM) provides support and guidance to students who have self-identified, or are identified by UCLA faculty or staff, as experiencing a financial crisis that impacts their academic success at UCLA.