Featured Sources
- TDR: The Drama Review (via Project Muse)
This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts, with an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary. - Modern Drama (via Project Muse)
- This link opens in a new window
Quarterly peer-reviewed journal focused on dramatic literature. - Theatre Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as a useful publications of theatre studies available today. - Theatre Topics
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre Topics focuses on performance at the border of theory and practice. - American Society for Theater ResearchThe American Society for Theatre Research resources include theatre organizations, journals, libraries and archives, theatre organizations, primary and secondary research sources.
- Educational Theatre AssociationEdTA’s mission is shaping lives through theatre education: honoring student achievement in theatre; supporting teachers by providing professional development, resources, and recognition; and influencing public opinion that theatre education is essential and builds life skills.
Major Online Sources: Find Articles and More
These online sources are good places to start searching for articles and reference information on theater. Most are subscription resources from the Library, so you will need to make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you are researching from home.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across many disciplines. - Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays, dance, and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
- Drama Online — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of plays and reference works, as well as streaming audio and video of performances. UCLA subscribes to the modules: Core Collection, Asian Theatre Video, Aurora Metro Books, BBC Drama Films, British, American, and Australian Video Collection, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, European Theatre Video Collection, L.A. Theatre Works, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, National Theatre Collections, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, RSC Live Collections, Shakespeare in the Present, Shakespeare Video Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 2, Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains, Shakespeare in the Present, Stage on Screen, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, TCG Plays, Theatre Performance and Practice Video Library. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of major academic journals from a range of disciplines. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - New Play Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search and discovery for plays using indexing terms for facets like playwright demographics, cast information, themes, etc. The database provides details about playwrights and creative works (generally unpublished), and includes full text for selected plays. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text reprints from volumes of Drama Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and more. Search specific suthors or general topics. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A reference source that covers multiple aspects of the international theater, including full text of major reference materials and records for individual plays, people, theaters, productions, and production companies. Also includes images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other ephemera. Formerly titled North American Theatre Online.
Diversity in the Theater
- Black Theatre NetworkThis organization is a communication resource for artists educators, scholars, students and theatre lovers dedicated to the exploration and preservation of the theatrical visions of the African Diaspora.
- Asian Theatre Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Offers descriptive and analytical articles, original plays and play translations, book and audiovisual reviews, and reports of current theatrical activities in Asia. - Latin American Theatre Review
- This link opens in a new window
A theater journal featuring reports on plays in print, as well as performances. Presents current trends in Latin American theater.
UCLA Collections
- Beatrice A. Richardson CollectionBeatrice A. Richardson was the director of both Physical Education and Dance at Scripps from 1938-69. She played a fundamental role in building the Scripps Dance department into a successful and widely recognized program.
- Bethune Theatredanse records, 1957-2012Materials related to the history and operations of the Bethune Theatredanse dance compnay, and its arts education program Infinite Dreams (formerly known as Dance Outreach), both founded by Zina Bethune.