Featured Resources
- Dance TeacherWritten for the dance teaching industry, short, easy to read articles on a wide range of dance topics including: dancers, choreographers, history, dance styles.
- Dance and the Child USADance and the Child International (daCi) is a nonprofit organization aiming to promote growth and development in dance for children and youth internationally.
- Dance/USA ArchiveThe Dance Heritage Coalition brings together the resources of archives across the United States that have significant collections devoted to dance history.
- Arts Journal: DanceArtsJournal brings together articles from varied publications that pertain to the art world. Just part of that is a section devoted to dance, sourced from periodicals like Dance Magazine, Huffington Post, The New York Times, and The Guardian.
- Dance Resources via PBSIncludes lesson plans, interactive game and videos related to dance education.
- Online Resources for Dance Educators during COVID-19Teaching artists, dance educators, and dance leaders are sharing so many tools to help us stay connected and creative right now.
Major Online Sources
These online sources are good places to start searching for articles, reference information, and streaming video related to the arts. For access to subscription resources from the Library, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you are researching from home.
For more suggested sources, use the tabs by category on the menu.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials from the 20th and 21st century, including photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material. Includes the full run of Dance Magazine from 1927-present. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across many disciplines. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
- International Encyclopedia of Dance
- This link opens in a new window
From Oxford Reference, this core dance encyclopedia contains articles written by scholars on theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Also included documentaries by and about choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering 20th century dance styles. UCLA has access to Volumes I and II of this database. - Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department.
- Hemispheric Institute of the AmericasDigital project from NYU Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics that "provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance."
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video resource that includes high-quality, full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and other forms.