News Broadcasts
- AP Archive This link opens in a new windowThe AP Archive, the film and video archive of the Associated Press, curates this YouTube channel featuring newsreel clips from the past and present. Launched in June 2015, the channel is updated daily with content sourced from the AP’s global news network. Covers approximately 1890-present.
- British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film showcases a large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.
- British Pathé NewsreelsApproximately 85,000 streaming titles from British Pathé, a major producer of newsreels during the 20th Century. Covers 1896-1976.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
- KTLA News Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)Clips from the KTLA Newsfilm Collection of local and national news from Los Angeles, California, circa 1958 to 1981. Subjects include national and local politics, civil rights, and social issues.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present). - Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online portal explores the period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. It includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, historical news video, ephemera and memorabilia. - 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes for the years 1997–2014. Also includes bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.
- TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new windowIncludes a significant number of television news and public affairs programming ranging from 1949 into the 2000s. For news and public affairs programming prior to 1980, search the general collection. Researchers interested in broadcasts from 1980-2003 should search both the NAPA collection database and the general collection catalog. Search for newsreels as Topic or genre/form search to find thousands of records for unedited newsreel footage.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Broadcast News Transcripts
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) PublicationsTranslations of print and broadcast news, 1996-2004, available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.