Skip to main content

Middle Eastern Studies

Middle Eastern, Armenian, and Central Asian Studies

Collections

Presently numbering in excess of 350,000 titles, the UCLA Library Middle Eastern collections consist of materials from and relating to the Arab World, Armenia, Central Asia, Iran, Israel and Turkey and their related diasporas. Especially noteworthy are the Armenian collection (the largest in the country) and manuscript holdings in Arabic, Armenian, Ottoman Turkish, and Persian. Current and retrospective materials in all languages are collected in print, microform, and electronic formats and include monographs, serial publications, reference works, dissertations, and conference proceedings.

The UCLA Middle Eastern collections support undergraduate, graduate, teaching, and research activities for a number of campus academic departments, organized research units, and interdepartmental degree programs. Principal among these are the Departments of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures, History, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, The G.E. von Grunebaum Center for Near Eastern Studies, and the interdepartmental program in Islamic Studies.

Most area materials are housed in the Charles E. Young Research Library, which concentrates on acquiring research-level area materials in the humanities and social sciences. Publications in other disciplines are collected by specialized campus libraries: the Biomedical Library (which also houses Arabic and Persian medical manuscripts and Arabic medical texts from Cairo, Egypt), the Science and Engineering Library, the Arts Library, the Music Library, the Law Library, and the Management Library collect area materials in their particular subject fields. The College Library collects mainly English-language area materials in a broad range of subjects at the undergraduate level. Several of the Middle Eastern manuscript collections, some with published catalogs, are accessible through UCLA Library Special Collections in the Research Library.

As a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and the Middle East Microforms Project (MEMP) which is administered by CRL, the UCLA Library participates with other major libraries in the cooperative acquisition and preservation of a wide range of research materials from and about the Middle East, including archives and manuscripts, theses and dissertations, newspapers, official gazettes and other government documents, collections of personal and/or official papers of important scholars, authors, and political figures, and political ephemera. Individuals with borrowing privileges at the UCLA Library may obtain MEMP and CRL materials through interlibrary loan.

Bibliographies