Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
- Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia "Since [2009], the Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia (CCE) has been gradually posting the articles of the 1991 Coptic Encyclopedia and will be continuously adding updates and new topics from the growing body of scholarship in Coptic studies at worldwide institutions..."
- The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Egypt / Donald B. Redford, editor in chiefAlso available online.
- UEE: Open Version The UEE: Open Version is the open access version of the UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
Additional Reference Sources
- Eastern Christianity / edited by Michael AngoldAlso available online.
Databases and Web Archives
- American University in Cairo (AUC) web archive: Coptic Religion & Culture"This collection of Coptic websites includes those of international diocese' and religious groups, as well as sites about Coptic music, writings, and politics..."
- Archivision
This link opens in a new window
Via ARTstor. A repository of 28,000 images representing Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century, and Modern architecture.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- EThOS Electronic Theses Online ServiceUK theses. Please note, EThOS is currently unavailable due to the British Library cyber attack in 2023. The British Library currently do not know when the service will be available again. Please see the British Library website for further information about the cyber attack. [June 2024]
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), providing coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002 (roughly 70,000 items), as well as partial coverage of 2003-2008.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
Selected Recent Monographs
Periodicals
Some resources are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- Bulletin of Saint Shenouda the Archimandrite Coptic Society no.1-6(1983/4-2001)
- JARCE Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt online and print available
Grammars
- Koptische Dialektgrammatik: mit Lesestücken und Wörterbuch/Walter Till 2nd Edition, 1961; Available at UCLA in NELC Reading Room (Humanities Building 389)
Coptic Art and Architecture
Manuscript Catalogues
Manuscript Facsimiles
Manuscripts in the Collection of the St. Shenouda Society
Blogs, Wikis and Forums
Museums with Coptic Collections
- Bibliotheca Alexandrina Antiquities Museum "The Museum was officially inaugurated on 16 October 2002. Its collections were carefully selected to reflect the rich, multi-cultural history of Egypt with its Pharaonic, Greco-Roman, Coptic and Islamic heritage, with special emphasis on Alexandria and the Hellenistic period. The Museum houses 1133 pieces..."
- The Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology "The Petrie Museum houses an estimated 80,000 objects, making it one of the greatest collections of Egyptian and Sudanese archaeology in the world. It illustrates life in the Nile Valley from prehistory through the time of the pharaohs, the Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic periods to the Islamic period..."
Other Portals
- Coptic Studies on the Internet Compiled by Heike Behlmer, November 2004
- Home Page of Moheb Mekhaiel Coptic Unicode fonts, open source software, e-books
- Lexilogos Coptic language resources
- Pisakho Coptic language resources