Film and Video Collections

Digital archive of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.

Discovery tool for collections of U.S. public radio and television content from 1950s-present. Contains thousands of original PBS and NPR broadcasts from the mid-20th century to the present.

Online collection of educational shorts, mostly dating from the 1930s to the 1970s. Films are arranged by tribal name.

Another Gaze's streaming platform, featuring week-long programs of films by women across modes of production and geographies, with new writing and translations about these works.

Using the YouTube platform, this channel presents hundreds of oral history interviews with major figures in television history. See also the main Archive of American Television site.

Artifacts houses over 40 years of archival footage, featuring rare, firsthand accounts from pioneers such as Marsha P. Johnson, John Cale, Quentin Crisp, Betsey Johnson, and many others. Series include Silver Factory (Andy Warhol's Factory), Gender Benders, and Underground Press.

Curated by Maya Cade, Black Film Archive lists every Black film made between 1915 and 1979 that is currently streaming with descriptions and contextual information.

Thousands of highlights from British Pathé and the Reuters historical collections of newsreels.

Online videos from the California Digital Library, including interviews, home movies, and select historical footage.

Previously called Framelines, Cinestudy is a free online source for footage, projects, and learning for the art of making movies.

A freely available ad-supported video streaming platform (originally named Grouper). Features films and TV shows, primarily from Sony Pictures and its subsidiaries.

A public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.

EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.

From the CSRC’s collection of eleven films Farmersville Film Project, funded by the U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity, which produced short documentaries in 1968 about conditions for Mexican American farmworkers in Farmersville, a town in California’s Central Valley.

From the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), this page lists outlets and platforms that offer free access to the holdings of FIAF affiliates online and are run or to a great extent maintained by the archives themselves.

A crowdsourced list of open access streaming video collections.

Online streaming documentary films on folk and roots cultures, many from the 1960s.

Connected to The Met's 150th Anniversary, From the Vault will release one new film produced by the Met's Office of Cinema Works each Friday during 2020. More information on this page.

Similar to YouTube, with some differences in coverage and searchability.

Online platform for students, educators, and online visitors to discover and interact with artworks in the museum’s collection, including works on paper, photographs, sculptures, paintings, and film and video.

Digital project from NYU Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics that "provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance."

Videos and livestreaming of interviews, playwriting masterclasses, and performances geared toward diverse theatre practitioners.

Vast online library of freely available movies and videos, mostly public domain and ephemeral film.

Free video resource curated by America's longest running dance festival. Click ARTIST, GENRE, or ERA to find dance clips spanning from the 1930s to today.

From the UCLA Film & Television Archive, these short films and interviews are part of the L.A. Rebellion initiative.

The National Screening Room showcases the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies freely accessible and downloadable.

Sixty-four motion pictures, named to the Library’s National Film Registry and in the public domain, available as streaming video online.

Online video from LoC collections and events, including early films from Edison and Westinghouse.

Online videos of classic Soviet and Russian films, including English subtitles.

Selection of online movie trailers and clips from major film scenes, now hosted on YouTube.

Physically located in Chicago, but also offers digitized radio and television content.

NFB's screening room offers 3000 titles free of charge for streaming, browsable by title, subject, and more.

A selection of Netflix documentary features and series made available for educators online. More information.

Several collections of 1150 freely available movies online, including titles from Paramount, the Korean Film Archive, and genre films.

Video clips from a variety of sources, particularly video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies.

Selected online video from PBS shows, including Frontline, The News Hour, American Experience, and Art: 21

From the Museum of the Moving Image, streaming audio and transcripts of discussions with major figures in film, television, and digital media.

Moving image collection with over 6000 hours of local newsfilm, and covering sixty years of social history and cultural revolution in the San Francisco Bay Area. Most of the collection must be viewed on site, but some content is available for viewing online.

Online access to 56 silent Thanhouser films produced between 1909 and 1917.

From the Museum of the Moving Image, this online exhibition features hundreds of commercials from every American presidential campaign since 1952.

From the Centre for Screen Cultures, a list of silent films available for screening online, including recently digitized rarities.

A digital portal with conversations and 60 in-depth portraits of directors, actors, writers, and producers who were celebrated in the Walker Cinema at pivotal moments in their careers.

A freely available ad-supported streaming service owned by Fox Corporation, including movies and television content from Paramount, Lionsgate, MGM, and other studios.

UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith.

View preserved animated silent films and read film notes and historical overviews via the Archive's YouTube channel.

Free online video, including movies and television shows.

Online Spanish language videos primarily focused on literary topics such as interviews, poetic readings, and theatrical representations.

Provides online access to historical content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, and searchable transcripts.

Includes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, archi­tectural drawings, and more.

One of the oldest and most prolific platforms of freely available online video.