New Resources!
- OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OnArchitecture is an online library of architecture-related videos. OnArchitecture features streaming interviews with contemporary architects from around the world. The site also features video tours of important contemporary projects by many of the interview subjects.
- Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Instructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS)
UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
IMCS is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although most holdings are also listed in UC Library Search, researchers can also search the IMCS catalog directly. Students must use these videos on site at the Instructional Media Lab, although some are available for streaming via course reserves in Bruin Learn.
- IMCS HomepageInstructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS) provides access to course-required physical and digital media for UCLA instructors, teaching assistants, students and non-UCLA academic researchers. Students and staff may view materials in the Powell Library Media Lab, Room 270, by making a request preferably three business days in advance.
- Search the IMCS CollectionsSearch the IMCS collection catalog by title, format, subject matter, director or other terms. Many IMCS titles also appear in UC Library Search.
- IMCS Access FAQsIncludes information about placing material on reserve, requesting online access, etc.
- IMCS Media Purchase Request FormInstructors and Teaching Assistants are eligible to submit a purchase request for media intended for usage in a course.
- Placing IMCS Course ReservesInstructors may request to have their class reserve videos encoded and linked to their course web page via a digital link. They will be accessible only to students enrolled in the class in question and only after logging into the UCLA VPN.
UCLA Film & Television Archive
The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.
Not all of the Archive's holdings are listed in the public catalog, so contacting the Archive Research and Study Center directly about holdings and access is recommended.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new windowMotion pictures (silent era, classic Hollywood, independent cinema, LGBT collections, documentaries and newsreels, animated cartoons, foreign and contemporary American films), television (American telecasting from 1945 to date), and news and public affairs programs (1950 to date).
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Research and Study CenterIncludes help on using the Archive's catalog and arranging research viewing appointments at Powell Library (when in-person operations resume).
- UCLA Film & Television Archive: Explore CollectionsIncludes help on using the Archive's catalog, as well as profiles of major collections by topic.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Online CollectionsIncludes KTLA news footage documenting local history, the LGBTQIA series In the Life, selected L.A. Rebellion and UCLA student films, and more.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive YouTube ChannelSelected streaming video from the Archive's collections and about the Archives work.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection — UCLA Film & Television Archive
UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. This collection is separate from the Archive's main collection (which also includes news and public affairs programs). NAPA broadcasts are searchable in a separate catalog, distinct from the Archive's main catalog. For more information, visit the Archive's NAPA webpage.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
UCLA Library
Individual libraries at UCLA hold some selectively acquired audiovisual material. These libraries include: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, YRL, and SRLF. Most DVD/VHS titles held by these library locations are circulating.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowSearches video at the UCLA Library, and some media held in Instructional Media Collections and Services. Limit to "Visual Materials" under Quick Limits.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowSpecial Collections at UCLA does have holdings of some archival media. The OAC searches digital finding aids of both print and audiovisual content in special collections and archives.
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- Audiovisual Media Playback EquipmentA listing of playback equipment located in different UCLA Library locations.
- Suggest a Purchase from UCLA LibraryUse this form for Library purchase requests that are separate from instruction use requests for Instructional Media Collections & Services. Choose location by subject.
- IMCS Media Purchase Request FormInstructors and Teaching Assistants are eligible to submit a purchase request for media intended for usage in a course from Instructional Media Collections & Services.