Streaming Video
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Shakespeare's As You Like It (1936) directed by Paul Czinner
This link opens in a new window
Produced by Paul Czinner for Inter-Allied Film Producers, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include J. M. Barrie, Elisabeth Bergner, and Laurence Olivier.
As You Like it (1978) directed by Basil Coleman- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Brian Stirner, Helen Mirren, and Richard Pasco.
As You Like It (2009) directed by Michael Boyd- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Digital Theatre+ and performed at the The Courtyard Theatre. Performers include Ansu Kabia, Charles Aitken, Christine Entwisle, and Clarence Smith.
As You Like It (2009) directed by Thea Sharrock- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Shakespeare's Globe, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Naomi Frederick, Jack Laskey, Brendan Hughes, Philip Bird.
As You Like It (2010) directed by Thea Sharrock- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Opus Arte, streaming on Alexander Steeet Press. Performers include Naomi Frederick, Laura Rogers, Dominic Rowan, and Jack Laskey. See also
Drama Online video of same performance.
As You Like It (2018) directed by Kimberly Sykes- This link opens in a new window
Produced for The Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming via Drama Online, from the 2018-19 season.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
As You Like It (1979) directed by Basil ColemanDVD. Produced by the BBC. Performers include Helen Mirren, Brian Stirner, and Richard Pasco.
As You Like It: Rosalind and Celia (1992) - Selected PartsVHS. Produced by the Center for Theater, Education and Research. Cast includes Patrick Stewart.
As You Like It (2007) directed by Kenneth BranaghDVD. Produced by HBO. Performers include Kevin Kline, Bryce Dallas Howard, Alfred Molina, and Brian Blessed.
As You Like It (2010) directed by Thea SharrockDVD. Distributed by Opus Arte and recorded at Shakespeare's Globe, London. Performers include Brendan Hughes, Naomi Frederick, Laura Rogers, Dominic Rowan, Gregory Gudgeon, and Sean Kearns.
As You Like It (2019) directed by Robin LoughDVD. Produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company. Performers include Lucy Phelps, Antony Byrne, Sophie Khan Levy, and Sandy Grierson.
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Comedy of Errors (1984) directed by James Cellan Jones- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Charles Gray, Cyril Cusack, Michael Kitchen, Nicolas Chagrin, and Roger Daltrey
Comedy of Errors (2009) directed by Paul Hunter- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Digital Theatre+ and streaming on their site. Performers include James Tucker, Dyfan Dwyfor, Christine Entwisle, and Debbie Korley.
The Comedy of Errors (2014) directed by Blanche McIntyre- This link opens in a new window
Performed by Shakespeare's Globe at the Globe Theatre, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Hattie Ladbury, Simon Harrison, Stefan Adegbola, and Andy Apollo.
The Comedy of Errors (2021) directed by Phillip Breen- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company at the Gorvy Garden Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon, September 2021, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Jonathan Broadbent, Anthony Bunsee, Greg Haiste, and Avita Jay.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Love's Labour's Lost (1985) directed by Elijah Moshinsky- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Jonathan Kent, Christopher Blake, and Geoffrey Burridge.
Love's Labour's Lost (2015) John Caird- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Stratford Festival, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Ruby Joy, Mike Shara, Sarah Afful, and Juan Chioran.
Love's Labour's Lost (2018) directed by Christopher Luscombe- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Emma Manton, Michelle Terry, Leah Whittaker, Nicholas Haverson, and John Hodgkinson.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Measure for Measure (1979) directed by Desmond Davis- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Performers include Kate Nelligan, Kenneth Colley, and Tim Pigott-Smith.
Measure for Measure (1994) directed by David Thacker- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Drama Online. Cast includes om Wilkinson, Juliet Aubrey, Corin Redgrave, and Sue Johnstone.
Measure for Measure (2007) directed by Bob Komar- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Kino Lorber, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Josephine Rogers, Daniel Roberts, Kristopher Milnes, and Simon Phillips.
Measure for Measure (2015) directed by Dominic Dromgoole- This link opens in a new window
Performed by Shakespeare's Globe at the Global Theatre. Performers include Mariah Gale, Kurt Egyiawan, Naana Agyei-Ampadu, Trevor Fox, and Rosie Hilal.
Measure for Measure (2019) directed by Gregory Doran- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Antony Byrne, Sandy Grierson, Claire Price, and James Cooney.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
The Merchant of Venice, excerpt (1910) directed by Gerolamo Lo Savio- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Film d'Arte Italiana, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include Olga Giannini Novelli, Francesca Bertini, and Ermete Novelli.
The Merchant of Venice (1980) directed by Jack Gold- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Kenneth Cranham, John Franklyn-Robbins, John Rhys-Davies, and Alan David.
The Merchant of Venice (2012) directed by Ilan Ronen- This link opens in a new window
Performed in Hebrew by the Habima at the Globe Theatre as part of the Globe to Globe Festival, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Alon Ophir, Hila Feldman, Yousef Sweid, and Rinat Matatov.
The Merchant of Venice (2015) directed by Polly Findlay- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Drama Online. Performers includes Jamie Ballard, Scarlett Brookes, Tim Samuels, Gwilym Lloyd, and Rina Mahoney.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
The Merchant of Venice (1973) directed by John SichelVHS. Produced by Jonathan Miller. Cast includes Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, and Jeremy Brett.
The Merchant of Venice (1981) directed by Jack GoldDVD. Produced by BBC. Cast includes Warren Mitchell, Gemma Jones, and John Franklyn-Robbins.
The Merchant of Venice: Shylock (1992) - Select PartsVHS. Produced by A Center for Theater, Education and Research (UC Santa Barbara). Performers include Patrick Stewart.
The Merchant of Venice (2000) directed by Trevor NunnDVD. Distributed by Image Entertainment and performed at the Royal National Theatre. Cast includes Henry Goodman, David Bamber, Alexander Hanson, and Derbhle Crotty.
The Merchant of Venice (2004) directed by Michael RadfordDVD. Distributed by Sony Pictures Entertainment. Cast includes Al Pacino, Jeremy Irons, Joseph Fiennes, Lynn Collins, Zuleikha Robinson, Kris Marshall, Charlie Cox, Heather Goldenhersh, and Mackenzie Crook.
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Merry Wives of Windsor (1982) directed by David Hugh-Jones- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Performers include Alan Bennett, Ben Kingsley, Richard O'Callaghan, and Tenniel Evans.
Shakespeare Series: Merry Wives Of Windsor (2005) directed by- This link opens in a new window
Produced by TMW Media, streaming on Kanopy
The Merry Wives of Windsor (2010) directed by Christopher Luscombe- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Shakespeare's Globe at the Globe Theater, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Nathan Amzi, Gareth Armstrong, William Belchambers, Philip Bird, and Serena Evans.
The Merry Wives of Windsor (2018) directed by Fiona Laird- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Ishia Bennison, Beth Cordingly, Rebecca Lacey, and David Troughton.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holding
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2014) directed by Julie Taymor- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Ealing Studios and Londinium Films, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include Kathryn Hunter, David Harewood, Tina Benko, Roger Clark, and Okwui Okpokwasili.
A Midsummer Night's Dream, excerpt (1909) directed by J. Stuart Blackton and Charles Kent- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Vitagraph Company of America, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include Julia Swayne Gordon, Maurice Costello, and William V. Ranous.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2013) directed by Dominic Dromgoole- This link opens in a new window
Performed by Shakespeare's Globe at the Globe Theatre, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Fergal McElherron, Michelle Terry, Pearce Quigley, Huss Garbiya, and Sarah MacRae.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2016) directed by Emma Rice- This link opens in a new window
A Shakespeare's Globe production, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Tibu Fortes, Edith Tankus, Lucy Thackeray, Alex Tregear, Zubin Varla, Anjana Vasan, and Ankur Bahl.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1981) directed by Elijah Moshinsky- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast include Helen Mirren, Estelle Kohler, Hugh Quarshie, and Nigel Davenport.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2022) directed by David Kerr- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the BBC, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Matt Lucas, Maxine Peake, Nonso Anozie and Paapa Essiedu.
Streaming Audio
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2003) directed by Clive Brill- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Arkangel Shakespeare Series, on LION (Literature Online). Performers include Amanda Root, Saskia Wickham, Rupert Penry-Jones, Clarence Smith, Richard McCabe, David Harewood, and Adjoa Andoh
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2013) directed by Martin Jarvis- This link opens in a new window
Produced by L.A. Theatre Works, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Simon Helberg, David Krumholtz, Stacy Keach, Héctor Elizondo, and Glenne Headley.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1999) directed by Michael HoffmanVHS. Distributed by 20th Century Fox. Cost includes Michelle Pfeiffer, Kevin Kline, Calista Flockhart, Rupert Everett, and Christian Bale.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1982) directed by James LapineVHS. New York Shakespeare Festival presentation at the Delacorte Theater in Central Park. Performers include William Hurt, Michele Shay, Marcell Rosenblatt and Jeffrey DeMunn.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1982) directed by Elijah MoshinskyDVD. Produced by BBC. Cast includes Helen Mirren, Estelle Kohler, Hugh Quarshie, and Nigel Davenport.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1968) directed by Peter HallDVD. Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company. Performers include Ian Richardson, Judi Dench, Ian Holm, David Warner, and Diana Rigg.
A Midsummer Night's Dream: Opera in Three Acts (1981) adapted by Benjamin Britten and Peter PearsDVD. Performed at the the Glyndebourne Festival Opera with the London Philharmonic. Performers include Ileana Cotrubas, James Bowman, Curt Appelgren, Cynthia Buchan, Ryland Davies, Dale Duesing, and Felicity Lott.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1935) directed by Max Reinhardt and William DieterleDVD. Distributed by Warner Brothers. Performers include James Cagney, Joe E. Brown, Dick Powell, Mickey Rooney, and Olivia De Havilland.
UCLA Library Holdings
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1954) directed by Michael BenthallAudio Recording
Location: SRLF
Performed by the Old Vic Company. Performers include Moira Shearer, Robert Helpmann, and Stanley Holloway.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1996) directed by Howard SacklerAudio Recording
Location: SRLF
Produced by the Shakespeare Recording Society. Performers include Paul Scofield, Barbara Jefford, Joy Parker, and John Stride.
A Midsummer Night's Dream (2003) directed by Clive BrillAudio Recording
Location: Powell Library
Performers include Amanda Root, Saskia Wickham, Rupert Penry-Jones, Clarence Smith, Richard McCabe, David Harewood, and Adjoa Andoh
Streaming Video
Much Ado About Nothing (1972) directed by Nick Havinga and Alfred Joseph Antoon- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Joseph Papp, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Cast includes Joseph Papp, Theoni V. Aldredge, Heino Ripp, Donald Edward Saddler, Nick Havinga, and Alfred Joseph Antoon.
Much Ado About Nothing (1984) directed by Stuart Burge- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Katharine Levy, Lee Montague, Robert Lindsay, Robert Reynolds, Tim Faulkner, and Cherie Lunghi
Much Ado About Nothing (2011) directed by Josie Rourke- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Digital Theatre+, performed at Wyndham's Theatre. Players include David Tennant, Catherine Tate, Jonathan Coy, and Leo Staar.
Much Ado About Nothing (2012) directed by Clément Poirée- This link opens in a new window
Performed in French by Compagnie Hypermobile at the Globe Theatre as part of the Globe to Globe Festival, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Suzanne Aubert, Bruno Blairet, Laurent Menoret, and Alix Poisson.
Much Ado About Nothing or Love's Labour's Won (2014) directed by Christopher Luscombe- This link opens in a new window
A Royal Shakespeare Company production, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Michelle Beatrice, Edward Benedick, David Leonato and Thomas Antonio.
Much Ado About Nothing (2023) directed by Josie Daxter- This link opens in a new window
Produced by National Youth Theatre, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Daniel Cawley, Hannah Zoé Ankrah, Tomás Azócar-Nevin and Eleanor Booth.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
The Taming of the Shrew (1976) directed by Kirk Browning and William Ball- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Ken Campbell, distributed by the Broadway Theater Archive, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include Raye Birk, Ron Boussom, Harry Hamlin, Rick Hamilton, and Sandra Shotwell.
Taming of the Shrew (1980) directed by Jonathan Miller- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes John Cleese, Susan Penhaligon, and Sarah Badel.
The Taming of the Shrew (1983) directed by John Allison- This link opens in a new window
Poduced by Jack Nakano, Bard Productions, and the Shakespeare Video Society streaming on Kanopy and Alexander Street Press.
Performances by Franklyn Seales, Karen Austin and Larry Drake.
The Taming of the Shrew (2016) directed by Chris Abraham- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Stratford Festival, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Ben Carlson, Deborah Hay, and Sarah Afful.
The Taming of the Shrew (2019) directed by Justin Audibert- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Amanda Harris, Joseph Arkley, James Cooney, and Claire Price.
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
The Tempest, excerpt (1908) directed by Percy Stow- This link opens in a new window
Published by the British Film Institute, streaming on Alexander Street Press.
Tempest (1928) directed by Sam Taylor- This link opens in a new window
Produced by John W. Considine Jr., streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers includes Louis Wolheim, Camilla Horn, and John Barrymore.
The Tempest (1979) directed by Derek Jarman- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Kino Lorber Edu, streaming on Kanopy.
The Tempest (1980) directed by John Gorrie- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCC, streaming on Kanopy. Casts includes Christopher Guard, David Waller, Derek Godfrey, Michael Hordern, and Piipa Guard.
Shakespeare Series: Tempest (2005)- This link opens in a new window
Produced by TMW Media, streaming on Kanopy.
The Tempest (2012) directed by Nasir Uddin Yousuff- This link opens in a new window
Performed in Bangla by the Dhaka Theatre at the Globe Theatre as part of the Globe to Globe Festival, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Esha Yousuf, Shimul Yousuf, Md. Matius Shams, Pijush Bandopadhaya, and Khairul Islam Pakhi.
The Tempest (2016) directed by Phyllida Lloyd- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Donmar Warehouse, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Jade Anouka, Shelia Atim, Jackie Clune, and
Shiloh Coke.
The Tempest (2016) directed by Gregory Doran- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Simon Russell Beale, Joe Dixon, Mark Quartley, and Jenny Rainsford.
The Tempest (2018) directed by Barry Avrich & Antoni Cimolino- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Stratford Festival, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Martha Henry, Graham Abbey, Michael Blake, and Sébastien Heins.
Streaming Audio
The Tempest (2003) directed by Clive Brill- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Arkangel Shakespeare series, on LION (Literature Online). Performers include Bob Peck, Adrian Lester, Jennifer Ehle, Simon Russell Beale, Jamie Glover, and Richard McCabe.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Twelfth Night, excerpt (1910) directed by Eugene Mullin and Charles Kent- This link opens in a new window
Film produced by J. Stuart Blackton and Vitagraph Company of America streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performances by Florence Turner, Charles Kent, and Julia Swayne Gordon.
Twelfth Night (1980) directed by John Gorrie- This link opens in a new window
Film produced by BBC streaming on Kanopy. Performances by Alec McCowen, Felicity Kendall, Robert Hardy, and Trevor Peacock.
Twelfth Night, or, What You Will (1988) directed by Paul Kafno- This link opens in a new window
Performance by the Renaissance Theatre Company (San Diego, CA) streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performances by Carole Belanger, Christopher Ravenscroft, and James Saxon.
Twelfth Night (2017) directed by Emma Rice- This link opens in a new window
Performance by the Royal Shakespeare Company at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre streaming on Drama Online. Contributors include Joshua Lacey, Anita-Joy Uwajeh, Katy Owen, and Lez Brotherston.
Twelfth Night (2017) directed by Christopher Luscombe- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Esh Alladi, Nicholas Bishop, Tom Byrne, and Sally Cheng.
Streaming Audio
Twelfth Night (2003) directed by Clive Brill- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Arkangel Shakespeare series, on LION (Literature Online). Performers include Niamh Cusack, Jonathan Firth, Amanda Root, Dinsdale Landen, and Julian Glover.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
Twelfth Night (1982) directed by John GorrieDVD. Film produced by BBC. Performances by Alex McCowen, Trevor Peacock, and Felicity Kendall.
Twelfth Night, or, What You Will (1986) produced by Kenneth BranaghVHS. Directed by Paul Kafno for Renaissance Theatre Productions. Cast includes Richard Briers, Frances Barber, Caroline Langrishe, Christopher Ravenscroft, and James Saxon.
Twelfth Night, or, What You Will (1996) directed by Trevor NunnDVD. Film produced by Stephen Evans and David Parfitt. Cast includes Helena Bonham Carter, Richard E. Grant, Nigel Hawthrone, and more.
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
Streaming Audio
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
Streaming Video
The Winter's Tale (1981) directed by Jane Howell- This link opens in a new window
Produced by BBC, streaming on Kanopy. Cast includes Robert Stephens, John Welsh, David Burke, Anna Calder-Marshall, Debbie Farrington, and Margaret Tyzack.
Winter's Tale: A Production Casebook (1998) directed by Gregory Doran- This link opens in a new window
A Royal Shakespeare company production, streaming on Alexander Street Press. Performers include Sir Antony Sher, Cicely Berry, Alexandra Gilbreath, and Estelle Kohler.
The Winter's Tale (2012) directed by Oluwole Oguntokun- This link opens in a new window
Performed in Yoruba by Renegade Theatre at the Globe Theatre as part of the Globe to Globe Festival, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Olawale Adebayo, Olarotimi Fakunle, Kehinde Bankole, and Idiat Abisola Sobande.
The Winter's Tale (2018) directed by Justin Audibert- This link opens in a new window
Originally staged as part of the National Theatre’s Shakespeare for younger audiences programme, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Adrian Richards, Nana Amoo-Gottfried, Tamara Camacho, Gabby Wong, and Shazia Nicholls.
The Winter's Tale (2021) directed by Erica Whyman- This link opens in a new window
Performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company in Stratford-upon-Avon, streaming on Drama Online. Performers include Andrew French, Kemi-Bo Jacobs, Joseph Kloska, and Georgia Landers.
The Winter's Tale (2021) directed by Erica Whyman- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Royal Shakespeare Company & Opus Arte, streaming on Digital Theatre+. Performers include Andrew French, Kemi-Bo Jacobs, Joseph Kloska, and Georgia Landers.
Instructional Media Lab Holdings
UCLA Library Holdings
