Skip to main content

Pacific Standard Time: Art and Design in Los Angeles

A guide to the Getty's Pacific Standard Time initiative. Start here to guide your research on exhibitions and artists included in Pacific Standard Time, explore themes and practices related to art in Southern California.

Research Assistance

Arts-related research assistance is available several different ways:

Arts Library Virtual Reference Desk

The Arts Library offers a virtual reference desk from 11:00-4:00 on weekdays. Appointments can be scheduled in 20 minute installments, and patrons will receive a Zoom link in their confirmation e-mail. Contact us for research in the fields of art and art history, architecture, architectural history, design media arts, fashion and costume, film and television studies, photography, theater, and urban design.

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server
Proxy on Windows
Coming soon!

Pacific Standard Time

Use this guide as a starting point to explore the Getty initiative Pacific Standard Time (PST). To date, the Getty has sponsored research and exhibitions toward three PST iterations: Pacific Standard Time: Art in LA 1945-1980, 2011-2012, Pacific Standard Time Presents: Modern Architecture in LA, 2013, and Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA, 2017-2018. The Getty recently announced the next PST event will be Pacific Standard Time: Art x Science x LA in 2024.

These exhibitions supported research and partnerships, with institutions across the city and Southern California more broadly presenting exhibitions as part of PST. 

This guide is organized to highlight specific themes explored through PST exhibitions while pointing toward relevant subjects and related resources to further research on artists, exhibitions and topics included in PST.

Created by Megan Sallabedra, May 2019. Completed by Grace Diliberto, May 2020.

Introduction to the Exhibitions

Pacific Standard Time: Art in L.A. 1945–1980 was the first iteration of the Getty's PST initiative. Exhibitions and a related Performance Art Festival took place from October 2011–March 2012. An archive of exhibitions, list of participating institutions and galleries, the Performance Art Festival, and related topical guides and press releases is available at: http://www.pacificstandardtime.org/past/artinla/index.html

Pacific Standard Time Presents: Modern Architecture in L.A. took place from April--September 2013. The focus of this iteration of PST was modern architecture in Southern California, focusing on a celebration of the legacy and impact of the movement. Exhibitions and programs were coordinated across seventeen cultural institutions in the area. Additional information, including a guide of sites/exhibitions is available at: http://pacificstandardtimepresents.org/

Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA was the most recent iteration of PST. The focus of this citywide exhibition, which ran from September 2017--January 2018, was Latin American and Latino art in Los Angeles. With thematically linked exhibitions throughout the city, PST: LA/LA sought to place Latin American and Latinx art in dialog with the city, and to raise provocative and intricate issues about current relations in the Americas and the expansive and ever changing social and cultural fabric of Southern California. Detailed information about the exhibits and participants can be found here: http://www.pacificstandardtime.org/lala/index.html

Many of the institutions involved in PST have presented exhibitions about art in Southern California throughout their history, and continue to produce relevant exhibitions around related themes today. Those institutions include:

J. Paul Getty Museum. 

Fowler Museum at UCLA

Hammer Museum

Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles, Calif.)

Palm Springs Art Museum

Related Research Guides

Architecture & Urban Design
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to architecture & urban design

Art and Art History
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information

Contemporary Art and Artists
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to contemporary art.

Image Resources
This guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers to locate frequently recommended resources such as how to cite images, rights and reproductions, and a list of online image collections.

Women Artists, Architects, and Designers
This guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers, pointing to resources and strategies for finding information about women artists, architects, and designers.

Architecture & Urban Design: Los Angeles and Southern California
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to architecture in Los Angeles and Southern California.

Art and Art History: Los Angeles and Southern California
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to art and art history in Los Angeles and Southern California.

Art in Library Special Collections
UCLA Library Special Collections has built in-depth collections that reflect trends in arts and architecture in the Los Angeles region, especially as the metropolitan area grew during the Modernist movement.

Photography: Los Angeles and Southern California
This guide will help you find resources on photographic activity in the Los Angeles area.

Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
Research guide for exhibit