General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990). - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases, which include scholarly articles, newspaper articles, and dissertations. Primary subject areas are in the humanities and social sciences.
Art and Art History Databases
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, photography, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media. - Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Artforum, a magazine for coverage of international contemporary art. Covers June 1962 to 2020. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art, and more.
- Artists from Latin American Cultures: A Biographical DictionaryThis biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- Art and Art History Research GuideFind more databases and resources!
Performing Arts & Video Resources
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- Pacific Standard Time YouTube pageFeatures video of performances pieces that were a part of the exhibitions.
- Film and Television Research GuideFind more databases and resources!
Gender Studies Resources
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Full-text access to journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women internationally includes cross-disciplinary methodology. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.
Latin American and Chicano/a Studies Resources
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States.
- RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
LGBTQ Resources
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Kinsey Institute, British Library, Lesbian Herstory, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America). - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s to more recent years. Includes many of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, including The Advocate. UCLA subscribes to Collection 1 of this database. - LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal with full text books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the 20th century to the present. The purchase of LGBT Thought and Culture was made possible through a generous gift from the David Bohnett Foundation.