Online Reference Sources
These online reference sources will help you gain some general information on your topic and locate relevent resources.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- Bibliografia MesoamericanaSearchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesMultidisciplinary bibliography on Latin America of works selected and annotated by scholars. Indexes works from 1935 to the present, updated weekly.
- FAMSI DictionariesProvides links to the online dictionaries maintained by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI) including hieroglyph and language dictionaries.
- Who's Who in the Classical Maya WorldProvides access to information about the lives of Classic Maya individuals whose names have survived in Maya inscriptions.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies by topic to important and recent scholarship in art and architectural history.
Print Reference Sources
These print reference sources are a good place to start your research. They will help you identify seminal authors and works in the field and develop a list of recommended readings for your topic.
- Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An EncyclopediaYRL Reference Reading Room
F1218.6 .A73 2001 - The Art and Archaeology of Pre-Columbian Middle America : an Annotated Bibliography of Works in EnglishArts Library Reference
Z 1208 M4K33a - The Art of Pre-Hispanic Mesoamerica : an Annotated BibliographyArts Library Reference
Z 1209.2 M4B47 1985 - Ethnoart : Africa, Oceania, and the Americas : a bibliography of theses and dissertationsArts Library Reference
Z5956.P68 B88 1988 - Ethnoarts Index(Formerly Tribal Arts Index)
Arts Library Reference Index Section
N 5311 T74 - Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology.Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference and YRL Reference Reading Room
F1219.3.R38 R42 2000 - Handbook of Middle American IndiansSeveral locations
- Historical Dictionary of Ancient MesoamericaYRL Reference Reading Room
F1434 .H57 2000 - Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America.3 volumes
Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference and YRL Reference Reading Room
F1218.6 .O95 2001
Historical Surveys
These historical surveys will help you gain a broad understanding of Pre-columbian art so you can situate your topic historically.
- The Ancient Americans : a Reference Guide to the Art, Culture, and History of Pre-Columbian North and South America2 volumes
YRL Reference Reading Room
E59.P42 S3613 2001 - The Art and Architecture of Ancient America : the Mexican, Maya, and Andean PeoplesOnline Access
Print: Arts Library Permanent Reserves
N6502 .K95a 1984 - Pre-Columbian Architecture of MesoamericaArts Library
F1219.3.A6 H5213 1988