Browse Journals
These are some of the leading scholarly journals in the field. Browse the most recent issues if you are looking for a topic or want to see the direction of recent scholarship in the field. Most are available online through the UCLA Library Catalog.
Subject-Focused Databases
These databases are subject focused and will help you find more relevant information about your topic. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Selective coverage back to 1741. - Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
- MesowebWebsite devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and adjacent Central American including Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec, and Maya. Specializes in Maya History from an archaeological perspective. Includes publication citations, encyclopedia, and images.
- FAMSI Research MaterialsList of specialized databases and digital collections produced by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI). Includes 3D imaging database, catalogues of vessels and vases, Maya who's who, drawings and photograph collections, and translation dictionaries.
- MesoloreA research and teaching tool on Mesoamerica. Includes a digital archive of manuscripts from pre and post-European contact, an interactive atlas, and teaching tools such as lesson plans and lectures.
General Databases
These databases contain article citations and/or full text articles across a range of subjects and disciplines.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across many disciplines. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are NOT included. Holdings vary by journal. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.