International Patents: Some Key Points
- There are no “worldwide” or “world" patents
- A patent application must be filed in each country
- Patenting cooperation treaties have been enacted, through the work of the World Intellectual Property Organization
To search multiple patenting organizations at once, consider using a database like Derwent Innovations Index, the Lens, or Google Patents.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
The Lens (Formerly known as Patent Lens) — US and Worldwide
- The Lens (Formerly known as Patent Lens)A free, open-access patent and scholarly information resource. More than 117 million patent records from over 95 jurisdictions. Over 200 million scholarly records across all disciplines.
European Patent Office
- Espacenet Patent searchAlso includes coverage for US patents, 1836 to current.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) HomepageThe website of the WIPO includes helpful information on intellectual property in specific countries, the international patent system, and PATENTSCOPE.
- PATENTSCOPE Search International Patent Applications"Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication. The information may be searched by enterting keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages." Find detailed country-by-country coverage; coverage of US patents is included.
Chinese Patents
- Chinese Patents (via Wangfang Data)
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese-language database contains the full text of all Chinese patents approved after 1985. Updated bimonthly. Also browsable by the following broad categories: Human Necessities; Performing Operation, Transporting; Chemistry, Metallurgy; Textiles & Paper; Fixed Constructions; Mechanical Engineering, Lighting, Heating, Weapons, Blasting; Physics; and Electricity.