Medieval and Byzantine Art

Open Web image collections are available for anyone to explore, though the images you find may still be subject to copyright and other use guidelines. Always check licenses and terms of use before incorporating images into your academic and creative work. For information about a resource, hover your cursor over or tap the blue "i" icon.

While some of these resources are image-only databases, many are primarily article databases that include image search features. For information about a resource, hover your cursor over or tap the blue "i" icon.

Note that the resources in this list are provided to the UCLA community via paid subscription access. If you are off campus you will need to need to establish a VPN or proxy server connection; see the "Connecting from Off-Campus" box in the left-hand column of this page for more information.

To search within individual journals:

Searching for image-rich print and ebooks

Print and ebooks are a great resource for finding images. Here is an example of how to find image-rich books using UC Library Search:

1. Enter your search terms in UC Library Search

2. On the initial search results page, locate the "Genre" filter in the left-hand column. Genre terms that typically describe books with images include "Exhibitions," "Exhibition Catalogs," "Pictorial Works," and "Illustrated Works." Select your terms and click "Apply Filters."

3. Your filtered results should now include image-rich items!

For more information on using UC Library Search, including how to access and place requests for books, see this guide.

Using print indexes for finding images in books

There are several print indexes that can help locate reproductions of images in books and periodicals for many disciplines. You can locate indexes by searching " pictures -- indexes "  as a subject term in the library catalog. Here are some indexes specific to Arts & Humanities disciplines:

• A.L.A. portrait index; index to portraits contained in printed books and periodicals 

  * N7620 .A51 1960 v.1-3 Arts Library Reference

• Illustration index 

  N7525 .V27i 1980 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
  N7525 .A66 1984-1993 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
  N7525 .A66 1998 Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room

• Index to art reproductions in books. 

  Arts Library Reference, YRL Reference Reading Room

• Index to Italian architecture : a guide to key monuments and reproduction sources 

  NA111 .T4 1992 Arts Library Reference

• Index to reproductions of American paintings appearing in more than 400 books mostly published since 1960 

  * ND205 .S654i Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection
  ND45 .M75in sup.1 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection

• Index to reproductions of European paintings; a guide to pictures in more than three hundred books 

  ND45 .M75i Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection

• World architecture index : a guide to illustrations 

  NA202 .T4 1991 Arts Library Reference, YRL Reference Reading Room

• World painting index 

  ND45 .H299w v.1-2, + sup. v.1-2; Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection; ND45 .H299w 1995 sup.2 v.1-2 Arts Library Reference

Archival collections, whether digital or physical, are often great resources for finding images.

Here are some digital archival collections specific to arts and humanities research. For information about a resource, hover your cursor over or tap the blue "i" icon.

To locate physical archival collections, try exploring these resources:

Here is a list of other UCLA Library Research Guides in the Arts & Humanities (and Area Studies) with sections on Finding Images.

• ​​​Ancient Near East and Egypt
• Anthropology
• Architecture and Urban Design
• Art and Art History
• Contemporary Art and Artists
• Contemporary Russian Culture
• Design Media Arts
• East Asian Studies
• Fashion and Costume
• Film and Television
• United States History
• Jewish Studies
• Los Angeles and Southern California Architecture
• Mesoamerican and Pre-Columbian Art
• Middle Eastern Studies
• Music Scores and Sheet Music
• Pacific Islands Studies
• Religion
• Slavic And East European Studies
• South Asian Studies
• Southeast Asian Studies
• Theater