Selected Online Reference Tools
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as Index of Christian Art, this database indexes medieval art in books, manuscripts, and photographs (Princeton University). Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Focuses on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. Search or browse by style/culture, subject, artists, location, etc.
- Brill's Companions to Middle East and Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new windowAn expanding e-book collection of carefully selected research companions to various key aspects of Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies. UCLA subscribes to Companions to Middle East and Islamic Studies Online I. Of particular interest to those studying art and art history is the section on Arab Painting.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCombines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists. Limit "Field" to Medieval for most relevant resources.
- Brill's Medieval Reference Library Online This link opens in a new window
Content from 4 Brill encyclopedias: Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage (2009), Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle (2010), Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 (2012) offering signed articles on aspects of medieval history, culture and belief.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowHigh-resolution images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. To browse relevant images, it is recommend to go straight to advanced search and narrow by “Style or Period.” If looking for images of medieval art, try searching for specific movements such as “gothic” or “romanesque,” in addition to broader terms like “medieval.”
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies by topic to important and recent scholarship in art and architectural history. Includes many bibliographies specifically relevant to Medieval art.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. Users can narrow by keyword or subject term search to browse relevant theses and dissertations.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Can filter by discipline, time period, etc.
- Brill's Companions to Late Antiquity and Medieval Studies This link opens in a new windowE-book collection of specially commissioned research companions covering the Byzantine and medieval periods. UCLA subscribes to titles in Companions to Late Antiquity and Medieval Studies I and II.
Selected Books
Medieval Art by Date: 2004The monumental arts and the diverse minor arts of the Middle Ages are presented in this survey of Western art and architecture within the social, religious, and political frameworks of lands as varied as France and Denmark, Spain and Turkey. Stylistic and iconographic issues and themes are thoroughly addressed with attention paid to aesthetic and social contexts.
Islamic Art and Architecture, 650-1250 by Date: 2002This volume presents a historical survey of the period 650-1250, and is based on the wealth of available information and the steps which are being made towards a critical discourse on Islamic art. Within the historical structure, the subject is divided by region, covering architecture, architectural decoration, the art of the book and the art of the object - textiles, ceramics, metalwork, woodwork. The broader impact of Islamic art on the non-Muslim world is also considered.
Medieval Art by Date: 1988The text discusses the arts of the church -- architecture, sculpture, manuscript illumination, and sumptuary arts -- in Italy, Byzantium, Germany, and France from the 4th to the 14th centuries -- including Early Christian, Byzantine, Pre-Romanesque Hiberno-Saxon, Carolingian, Ottonian, Romanesque, and Gothic art.
The Art and Architecture of Islam, 1250-1800 by Date: 1994Virtually all the masterpieces of Islamic art - the Alhambra, the Taj Mahal and the Tahmasp Shahnama - were produced during the period from the Mongol conquests in the early 13th century to the advent of European colonial rule in the 19th century. This work surveys the architecture and arts of the traditional Islamic lands during this era.
Medieval Art by Date: 1996Designed as a quick-reference source to the topics, symbols, themes, and stories most frequently found in early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art, this work describes topics that include names and narratives drawn from the Bible and apocrypha, the lives of saints, and numerous other textual sources.
Medieval Art by Date: 2001This text examines the importance of art in the expression and spread of knowledge and ideas, including notions of the heroism and justice of war, and the dominant view of Christianity.
