Point of Care Tools
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window Evidence-based resource covering many specialties. Includes epidemiology, practice updates, drug interactions, medical calculators, and patient handouts. To obtain CME, create a personal profile.
This link opens in a new window
- UCLA Health Laboratory Test Directory Welcome to the UCLA Health Laboratory Test Directory Please see Specimen Collection Guidelines for important information on requisition requirements, specimen labeling requirements, specimen transport and packaging requirements, blood collection guidance, and result reporting.
- MedNet Medical References Electronic resources available through MedNet. Off-site access available when using VPN.
- MD Calc Curated clinical decision support tool to guide - advises clinicians when to use the tool, what to be aware of, next steps for patients, and research/information supporting the advice.
- Diagnostic Test Calculator Use to determine sensitivity, specificity, likelihood ratios. Created by Alan Schwartz at U of Chicago.
- docLogica This link opens in a new window docLogica is a comprehensive, searchable database of disease characteristics and test accuracies. Users must register an account using their UCLA email address.
- This link opens in a new window
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network This link opens in a new window Excellent infectious disease resource. Includes differential diagnosis tools, outbreak information, and epidemiological data.
- This link opens in a new window
Drug Information
- MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Search by Drug, Disease, or Toxicology. Includes Drug Interactions, IV compatibility, Drug ID, Do Not Crush list, Red Book, Black Box Warnings, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Database of complementary and alternative therapies. Includes interaction checker, adverse effects, pregnancy and lactation, etc. -- AKA NatMed Pro
- This link opens in a new window
EBP Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Literature Reviews
The Biomedical Library offers assistance publishing literature reviews - whether they are stand-alone reviews or part of a larger piece of original research. Use this form for the Health Sciences Expert Searching portal and select "Literature Review."
Key Titles in Medicine
Here are a few highlights from UCLA Library's collection:
- Anatomy: Clinical Neuroanatomy
- Biochemistry: Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry
- Cardiology: Hurst's The Heart
- Critical Care: Principles of Critical Care
- Histology: Junqueira's Basic Histology
- Infectious Disease: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
- Internal Medicine: Harrison’s Online (e-version of Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine)
- Microbiology: Sherris Medical Microbiology
- Obstetrics & Gynecology: Williams Obstetrics
- Pharmacology: Katzung’s Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
- Physiology: Review of Medical Physiology
- Psychiatry: Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders
- Surgery: Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery
Reference Texts:
Open Access Support
- Open Access Publishing Agreements and DiscountsThe University of California is committed to making it easier and more affordable for UC authors to publish open access.
The UC libraries negotiate agreements with scholarly journal publishers to reduce the amount authors must pay when they choose to publish open access. Most agreements offer up to full coverage of the open access fees; others offer a discount.
Find details on the amount of funding available to UC authors, by publisher, through the above link. Both full coverage and discount agreements are listed.
