Reference and Guidebooks
- ArchivematicaA web- and standards-based, open-source application used by archival institutions to preserve long-term access to trustworthy, authentic and reliable digital content.
- Born Digital: Guidance for Donors, Dealers and Archival RepositoriesPublished by the Council on Library and Information Resources, this guide is intended for a broad audience with varying levels of interest and expertise, and offers practical recommendations for safeguarding born-digital materials.
- Challenges of the Digital Era for Film Heritage InstitutionsReport from the Digital Agenda for the European Film Heritage.
- Comparing Formats for Video DigitizationLibrary of Congress blog, 2014.
- Digital Cinema Technologies from the Archive's PerspectiveThis article is intended to give a basic introduction to the technologies and processes that are associated with the DCI / SMPTE digital cinema system.
- Digital Moving Image Archives (DMIA)Guide designed for independent filmmakers to provide basic information about preserving digital data and to encourage collaboration with moving image archives.
- Digital Preservation Assessment HandbookTextbook that goes along with NEDCC's digital preservation assessment training.
- Digital Preservation Glossary (Yale)This list of glossaries includes resources for areas of specialization within digital preservation, such as digital archives, and research data.
- Digital Preservation HandbookThe Handbook provides an internationally authoritative and practical guide to the subject of managing digital resources over time and the issues in sustaining access to them. It will be of interest to all those involved in the creation and management of digital materials.
- Electronic Arts Intermix ResourcesEAI's Online Resource Guide for Exhibiting, Collecting & Preserving Media Art addresses key issues and brings together information on current practices and critical dialogue relating to single-channel video, computer-based art and media installation.
- Glossary of Digital Library TermsFrom the California Digital Library.
- Guidelines for the Preservation of Digital HeritageThese guidelines were prepared by the National Library of Australia in collaboration with UNESCO.
- Journal of Digital Information
This link opens in a new window
JoDI published peer-reviewed papers on the management, presentation and uses of information in digital environments. The Journal of Digital Information published its final issue in 2012 and has ceased publication. - Levels of Digital PreservationNational Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) resource for digital preservation practitioners when building or evaluating their digital preservation program.
- NYPL Digital Asset SpecificationsThis document outlines the technical specifications and requirements for digitization of analog media collections and digital packaging of deliverable files.
- PreservicaDigital Asset Management system.
- Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress CollectionsProvides information about digital content formats and format descriptions.
- Understanding the Environmental Impact of Media in the Cloud: A Discussion PaperThe Working Group’s objective is to explore and share information with members on the environmental
sustainability of content processing through the Cloud. Sustainability of the cloud has become an increasingly debated topic in recent years."
Resources
- Archiving Virtual Worlds (Stanford Humanities Lab)The Virtual Worlds video archive is dedicated to the academic investigation and historical preservation of documentation of virtual worlds.
- Game Metadata and Citation Controlled VocabularyIndexed listing of the recommended terms for describing computer game media formats.
- The MADE Forum (Museum of Art and Digital Entertainment)The MADE Forum is a speaker series that takes place at the MADE. Individuals across digital entertainment industries, entertainment history, and the digital arts share their passion about their chosen topic.
- Preserving Virtual Worlds (LoC)The Preserving Virtual Worlds project will explore methods for preserving digital games and interactive fiction.
- Recommended Formats (LOC)Library of Congress statement on software for Desktop, Mobile/Handheld and Video Gaming Systems.
- ROM (Read-Only Memory) CartridgesROM (Read-Only Memory) cartridges and cards for video games consoles, home computers, electronic synthesisers, PDAs and more.
- Understanding the “Expanded Notion” of Videogames as Archival Objects: A Review of Priorities, Methods, and Conceptions
- This link opens in a new window
This paper aims to show how videogames are construed as archival objects in the videogame‐preservation literature by investigating drivers and motivations, selection of material, and methods of preservation. - Video Game ConsolesAll forms of media for home and handheld video game consoles, including ROM cartridges, floppy and optical discs and memory cards.
- Video Game History FoundationThe Video Game History Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving, celebrating, and teaching the history of video games. Includes a blog regarding issues facing the video game archiving field.
- Video Game Resources (AMIA)Repository on resources for video game metadata and preservation created by AMIA.
- Archival Resource Keys (ARK) AllianceArchival Resource Keys (ARKs) serve as persistent identifiers, or stable, trusted references for information objects. This website is designed to identity and create ARKs for digital items and data.
- BagIt File Repackaging FormatLibrary of Congress Github account review on BagIt, a set of hierarchical file layout conventions for storage and transfer of arbitrary digital content
- Data Discs FormatsOptical and magnetic-optical discs, hard disk cartridges, hard disks, disk packs and more.
- DdrescueData Recovery Tool. It copies data from one file or block device (hard disc, cdrom, etc) to another, trying to rescue the good parts first in case of read errors.
- FTK ImagerSoftware to assess electronic evidence by obtaining forensic images of computer data, without making changes to the original evidence.
- Preferred File FormatsUniversity of Washington guide on digital files.
- QuickView PlusSoftware to view obsolete file formats.
- Resources for TechnologistsFrom the California Digital Library.