Reference and Guidebooks
ARSC Guide to Audio Preservation by Date: 2015The ARSC Guide to Audio Preservation is a practical introduction to caring for and preserving audio collections. It is aimed at individuals and institutions that have recorded sound collections but lack the expertise in one or more areas to preserve them. Commissioned for and sponsored by the National Recording Preservation Board of the Library of Congress. Copublished by the Association for Recorded Sound Collections, the Council on Library and Information Resources, and The Library of Congress.
Guidelines on the Production and Preservation of Digital Audio ObjectsThis is the English language web edition of IASA-TC 04 (Second Edition, 2009), an accepted authority on digital audio preservation in the sound archiving field.
The Field Audio Collection Evaluation Tool (FACET) by Date: 2007This document provides detailed information on the characteristics of, and preservation problems associated with, each audio format that may be assessed using FACET. Included are descriptions
of each characteristic/problem along with guidance on how to identify it and, if appropriate, rate its severity.
- American Discography ProjectOnline database that functions as a comprehensive discography of 78rpm-era recordings.
- Audio Guidance (NARA)This section contains practical advice on preserving a variety of audio recordings. This section contains practical advice on preserving a variety of video recordings. Includes identifying formats and digitization information.
- Cable BibleA comprehensive source for identifying cables and connectors potentially used for audiovisual/media preservation.
- Care, Handling, and Storage of Audio Visual MaterialsLibrary of Congress guide
- DiscogsOnline music database database of information about audio recordings, including commercial releases, promotional releases, and bootleg or off-label releases. The information can aid in identification of audio materials.
- Fundamentals of AV PreservationTextbook created by NEDCC along with a fee-based accompanying course.
- Manual of Analogue Audio Restoration TechniquesFrom the British Library: "Focussing in unparalleled depth on the correct playback of analogue sound recordings, the result of detailed research into the history of audio technology, it will be an essential guide for audio historians and for technicians working in digitisation programmes."
- Preservation Self-Assessment Program (PSAP)A free online tool that helps collection managers prioritize efforts to improve conditions of collections. Through guided evaluation of materials, storage/exhibit environments, and institutional policies, the PSAP produces reports on the factors that impact the health of cultural heritage materials, and defines the points from which to begin care.
- Sound Directions: Best Practices for Audio PreservationThis publication presents the results of research and development carried out by the Sound Directions project with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities in the U.S.
Online Resources
- Magnetic Tape FormatsAudio formats for music and voice recording and playback using magnetic tape, most of which are now obsolete. Includes analog and digital tape.
- Care and Handling of CDs and DVDs: A Guide for Librarians and ArchivistsThis document describes methods for the care and handling of optical discs and is intended for use by librarians and archivists in government, academia, and industry.
- Optical Disc FormatsOptical disc media from the Compact Disc onwards for digital music playback, and in some cases, recording.
- Phonograph Disc and Cylinders FormatsFormats for sound recording or playback that use the vibration of a stylus or needle following a spiral groove on a revolving disc or cylinder.
Software
- Adobe AuditionAdobe Audition is a digital audio workstation developed by Adobe Inc. Current UCLA students have access to the Adobe Creative Cloud software for free.
- AudacityFree and open-source digital audio editor and recording application software that can be used to capture audio.
- Audiorecorder (AMIA)Open source software that functions as a free tool for the calibration and recording of analog audio signals.
- CD-RDAORecords audio or data CD-Rs in disk-at-once (DAO) mode based on a textual description of the CD contents
- DBpoweramp CD RipperSoftware for audio conversion and lossless, uncompressed CD ripping.
- Exact Audio CopyExact Audio Copy is an audio grabber software for audio CDs using standard CD and DVD-ROM drives.
- IsoBusterData recovery software. Rescues lost files from CDs, DVDs or Blu Ray discs. Can also recover deleted files from a Hard Drive, Memory card or flash media that needs to be formatted.
- Pro Tools (Avid)Audio production software that supports, Restoration and Editing plug-ins. More often found in professional audio industry workstations.
- WaveLab Pro 11Audio Software that supports Transfer, Restoration, and Editing work. Used in some archival workflow settings.