Copyright Law and Media
Copyright and Cultural Institutions: Guidelines for Digitization for U.S. Libraries, Archives, and Museums by ISBN: 9780935995107Date: 2009-01-01Copyright and Cultural Institutions was written to assist understanding and compliance with copyright law. It discusses the basics of copyright law and the exclusive rights of the copyright owner, the major exemptions used by cultural heritage institutions, and stresses the importance of "risk assessment" when conducting any digitization project.
Hollywood's Copyright Wars: From Edison to the Internet by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780231159463Date: 2012-04-10Copyright law is important to every stage of media production and reception. Beginning with Thomas Edison's aggressive copyright disputes and concluding with recent lawsuits against YouTube, Hollywood's Copyright Wars follows the struggle of the film, television, and digital media industries to influence and adapt to copyright law.
- AMIA Copyright SymposiumPresented in collaboration with AMIA’s Copyright Committee, this online symposium looks at the current U.S. copyright landscape and its impact on media archives. Restricted to AMIA members.
- Basic Principles for Managing Intellectual Property in the Digital Environment: An Archival PerspectiveThe following document was prepared by the Society of American Archivists (SAA) as an archival commentary on the statement issued by the National Humanities Alliance (NHA) entitled "Basic Principles for Managing Intellectual Property In the Digital Environment." This document, therefore, is an archival perspective on the NHA principles, intended to highlight those issues that strike closest to the core of archival practice.
- Copyright AllianceA nonprofit organization representing artistic creators across a broad range of copyright disciplines. Website includes resources on education, blog posts, and explanations of current issues.
- Copyright and Related Issues Relevant to Digital Preservation and Dissemination of Unpublished Pre-1972 Sound Recordings by Libraries and ArchivesCommissioned for and sponsored by the National Recording Preservation Board, Library of Congress
- Copyright Guidelines: Video at RiskSection 108 Guidelines. Created as a part of VAR (Videos at Risk: Strategies for Preserving Commercial Video Collections in Libraries), 2012.
- Copyright Issues Relevant to Digital Preservation and Dissemination of Pre-1972 Commercial Sound Recordings by Libraries and ArchivesCommissioned for and sponsored by the National Recording Preservation Board, Library of Congress
- Report on Orphan Works (Library of Congress)This Report addresses the issue of “orphan works,” a term used to describe the situation where the owner of a copyrighted work cannot be identified and located by someone who wishes to make use of the work in a manner that requires permission of the copyright owner.
- Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use of Orphan Works for Libraries & Archives (2014)This document responds to memory institution professionals’ concerns about copyright liability in digitizing and providing digital access to collections that are believed to contain orphan works in significant numbers.
Additional Resources
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Intellectual Property, Copyright, and Patent LawGuide with list of resources from the UCLA Law Library.
- UCLA Library Scholarly Communication ServicesExplore resources from UCLA Library to help you understand copyright, open access and other questions you may have about publishing your research.
- Copyright 101 Research GuideCornell University's guide to Copyright concepts and basics.
- TK Labels (Local Contexts)The TK and BC Labels are an initiative for Indigenous communities and local organizations. The TK Labels identify and clarify community-specific rules and responsibilities regarding access and future use of traditional knowledge.