Featured Online
- Queer Rhapsody Screening Series (2024)From the UCLA Film & Television Archive and screening partners across Los Angeles.
- IN FOCUS: Pride (UCLA Newsroom, 2024)A curated selection of stories from across the UCLA campus spotlighting LGBTQ+ voices, histories and research
- Pride Month 2023: Read, watch, listenRecommendations from UCLA staff, published by UCLA Newsroom.
- Pioneers of Queer CinemaWinter 2022 film series from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. View or download the catalog here.
- Our Stories, Our Power: A Pride Month 2021 WatchlistRecommended streaming film recommendations from the UCLA Library for Pride Month!
- See the Bigger Picture with Zackary DruckerIn this video spotlight on filmmaker and artist Zackary Drucker, she reveals how the use of archival materials from the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project collection enabled her to construct new stories and bring hidden trans histories to light.
Major LGBTQ+ Streaming Media Resources
- LGBTQ Cinema (Kanopy)
This link opens in a new window
200+ selections of scripted feature films in Kanopy related to LGBTQ subjects and themes. - LGBTQ Stories (Kanopy)
- This link opens in a new window
300+ streaming documentaries related to LGBTQ+ subjects and themes.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, AIDS, transgender issues, and other topics.
- Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department.
- In the Life: LGBTQ Research PortalStreaming video to episodes of In The Life, television’s longest running LGBT news magazine. Hosted by the UCLA Film & Television Archive.
- Outfest UCLA Legacy Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)In 2005, UCLA Film & Television Archive partnered with Outfest (founded at UCLA in 1982) to create the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project for LGBTQ Moving Image Preservation. It is the largest publicly accessible collection of LGBTQ films in the world. Some of the Legacy Project film holdings and public program recordings are available on the Archive's YouTube channel.
- The Out MuseumIn connection with Outfest, an LGBTQ+ arts and media virtual museum featuring curated videos and exhibits.
Streaming Video Databases: Narrative, Documentary, and Performance
Library subscription databases with streaming video content, including narrative features and shorts, documentaries, performance documentation, and more. See tabs for news and free internet collections as well.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide. - Avalon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link. Avalon will be unavailable from 11/12/24-11/15/24 for maintenance. - Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes access to the African American Classics collection from California Newsreel. - Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department. - Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II. - LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, AIDS, transgender issues, and other topics.
- Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music, dance, film, and theater databases. - New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, plus 50 award-winning short films. - OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video resource that includes high-quality, full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and other forms.
- Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming media archive of silent era features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Streaming Video Databases: News
Major databases with streaming news video content.
- In the Life: LGBT Research PortalStreaming video to episodes of In The Life, television’s longest running LGBT news magazine. Hosted by the UCLA Film & Television Archive.
- KTLA News Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)Clips from the KTLA Newsfilm Collection of local and national news from Los Angeles, California, circa 1958 to 1981. Subjects include national and local politics, civil rights, and social issues.
- TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN. - Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present). - 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes for the years 1997–2014. Also includes bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online portal explores the period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. It includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, historical news video, ephemera and memorabilia.
- British Pathé NewsreelsApproximately 85,000 streaming titles from British Pathé, a major producer of newsreels during the 20th Century. Covers 1896-1976.
- Universal Newsreels, 1929-1967 (Internet Archive)Subset of the Internet Archive, with online access to several hundred newsreels. See also the UCLA Film & Television Archive for access to Hearst newsreels and other archival news footage.
Instructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS)
UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
IMCS is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although most holdings are also listed in UC Library Search, researchers can also search the IMCS catalog directly. Students must use these videos on site at the Instructional Media Lab, although some are available for streaming via course reserves in Bruin Learn.
- IMCS HomepageInstructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS) provides access to course-required physical and digital media for UCLA instructors, teaching assistants, students and non-UCLA academic researchers. Students and staff may view materials in the Powell Library Media Lab, Room 270, by making a request preferably three business days in advance.
- Search the IMCS CollectionsSearch the IMCS collection catalog by title, format, subject matter, director or other terms. Many IMCS titles also appear in UC Library Search.
- IMCS Access FAQsIncludes information about placing material on reserve, requesting online access, etc.
- IMCS Media Purchase Request FormInstructors and Teaching Assistants are eligible to submit a purchase request for media intended for usage in a course.
- Placing IMCS Course ReservesInstructors may request to have their class reserve videos encoded and linked to their course web page via a digital link. They will be accessible only to students enrolled in the class in question and only after logging into the UCLA VPN.