Featured Online
- Queer Rhapsody Screening Series (2024)From the UCLA Film & Television Archive and screening partners across Los Angeles.
- IN FOCUS: Pride (UCLA Newsroom, 2024)A curated selection of stories from across the UCLA campus spotlighting LGBTQ+ voices, histories and research
- Pride Month 2023: Read, watch, listenRecommendations from UCLA staff, published by UCLA Newsroom.
- Pioneers of Queer CinemaWinter 2022 film series from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. View or download the catalog here.
- Our Stories, Our Power: A Pride Month 2021 WatchlistRecommended streaming film recommendations from the UCLA Library for Pride Month!
- See the Bigger Picture with Zackary DruckerIn this video spotlight on filmmaker and artist Zackary Drucker, she reveals how the use of archival materials from the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project collection enabled her to construct new stories and bring hidden trans histories to light.
Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Selected Images and Stills
Paris is Burning (Jennie Livingston, 1990)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Saving Face (Alice Wu, 2004)
Changes (Gerard Damiano, 1970)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Behind Every Good Man (Nikolai Ursin, c. 1967)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Desert Hearts (Donna Deitch, 1985)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Different From the Others / Anders als die Andern (Richard Oswald, 1919)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Lily Tomlin in episode of In the Life
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Tongues Untied (Marlon T. Riggs, 1989)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Queens at Heart (c. 1967)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Pat Rocco
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
The Watermelon Woman (Cheryl Dunye, 1996)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Coming Out Under Fire (Arthur Dong, 1994)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive.
Getting Started: General Reference Overviews
- The Encyclopedia of LGBTQIA+ Portrayals in American Film
This link opens in a new window
"[E]xplores works from the past fifty years in order to not only discuss how LGBTQIA+ characters are portrayed in American film, but also how these portrayals affect viewers." - Film, by Lucy Miller
- This link opens in a new window
Essay and bibliography from The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies. - Film, by Noah Tsika
- This link opens in a new window
Essay and bibliography from The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies. - Film and Video, by Ron Gregg
- This link opens in a new window
Short overview and bibliography from Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America. - Film and Video Festivals, by Patricia White
- This link opens in a new window
Short overview and bibliography from Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America. - Film and Video Studies, by Danielle Bouchard and Jigna Desai
- This link opens in a new window
Short overview and bibliography from Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America. - Gay, Lesbian, and Queer Cinema, by Barry Keith Grant
- This link opens in a new window
Essay and bibliography in Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film. - The Oxford Handbook of Queer Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Ronald Gregg and Amy Villarejo - Queer or LGBTQ+, by Amy Borden
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter in The Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender. - Queer Television, by Hollis Griffin
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography from Oxford Bibliographies Online. - Queer Theory, by Barry Keith Grant
- This link opens in a new window
Essay and bibliography in Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film. - Queer Theory, by Maria Pramaggiore
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography from Oxford Bibliographies Online. - Queer Theory/Queer Cinema, by Edward Branigan and Warren Buckland
- This link opens in a new window
Reference overview essay from The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory. - Routledge Companion to Media, Sex, and Sexuality
- This link opens in a new window
Includes numerous survey articles, including Asexualities and Media, Representing Trans Sexualities, Representing Lesbians in Film and Television, and Representing Queer Sexualities. - Towards Trans Cinema, by Eliza Steinbock
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter in The Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies