Skip to Main Content

LAUC Assembly 2024

Tour Information

Tours of the UCLA Library (and other parts of the campus) will be offered during the LAUC Assembly! Please meet your guide at the front of the Young Research Library between 3:30-3:40 PM. Tours will depart when the guides are ready!
 

  • General Library and Campus Tour

Libraries at UCLA Today and Back in the Day: Walk-about Talk-about!  Casually stroll across our beautiful campus in this unstructured tour alongside a UCLA librarian with 50+ years of institutional knowledge. Advanced registration not required.

Tour Guide: Miki Goral
 

  • Library Special Collections – The Lobby, Booth, Smith, and the NEW Distinctive Collections Classroom

    Embedding Primary Source Collections into Instruction and Research Literacy. Peep some triple deckers in the Sadleir Collection of 19th C British Fiction, take a selfie with our Picasso, poke a 19th century iron printing press, and check out our small (yet mighty) Ahmanson-Murphy Reading room. Then check out our brand new, state of the art Distinctive Collections Classroom and investigate our teaching collection of medium-rare materials. Advanced registration not required.

    Tour Guides: Jet Jacobs and Jimmy Zavala
     

  • Library Special Collections - Biomedical Library Rare Book Room and Biomed Classroom 2

This Just In: The What, How, and Why of Building Historical Collections. Explore an array of recent acquisitions in history of medicine, anatomy, botany, and food studies; learn about what they are, where we get them, and how we justify adding them to our research and teaching collections. (Includes a 15-20 minute walk to south campus.) Advanced registration required—please sign-up here. 

Tour Guide: Russell Johnson (Curator of History of Medicine and the Sciences)


A self-guided tour is also available:

  • Sculpture Garden - The Franklin D. Murphy Sculpture Garden is located directly east of the Young Research Library. While you may walk through the garden at your own pace, there are a couple options to enhance your self-guided experience:
    • Looking Guide (PDF) - An interactive looking guide to help you learn more about the sculptures. Bring a pen/pencil and a camera (if handy). Limited print copies will be made available.
    • Bloomberg Connects (Audio-recordings)
      • Download app
      • Search for and open the "UCLA Hammer Museum"
      • Click on “Start Guide”
      • Scroll down to “Collections” and swipe right two times.
      • Select “Franklin D. Murphy Sculpture Garden”.
      • Walk up to a sculpture, select matching photo, and listen to the audio file (average 3 mins) or read the transcript (if provided).