Selected Newspaper Sources
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2015]. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- La Opinión
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA collections include online editions (from 1992), microfilm (1926-2010) and print (latest issues) of this Los Angeles area paper.
- Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Latin American Newspapers in UCLA Library Special Collections
-
Latin American labor movements newspaper collection (Collection 1425) — Labor newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Uruguay and the United States.
-
Collection of Brazilian Newspapers 1881-1964 (Collection 1128) — Collection contains various Brazilian newspapers, primarily from Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, bound according to specific subjects or events in Brazilian history. Subjects covered include the death of Ruy Barbosa, the centenary of Brazilian independence, and the end of the Vargas government. Also contains official diaries of Brazil and the state of Guanabara.
- Political Newspapers from Buenos Aires, 1786-1851 (Collection 1812) — This collection contains political newspapers published in Buenos Aires, Argentina from 1812 to 1851. Publications contain a range of topics with a focus on Argentine national issues but also include international news. The newspapers are primarily in Spanish, with some English, French, and Latin, beginning shortly after Argentine independence.
Online Newspaper Databases
Many newspapers and newswires published in Latin America are available online in news databases. The following are available to UCLA students.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican-American PapersThis project at the University of Arizona "documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."
- Latin America Digital Beat / Data Base This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online news service that produced three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur) which ceased publication April 30, 2018. Produced by the University of New Mexico. The LADB webpage and archive will remains online and accessible to current subscribers. - Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from US publishers in Spanish or English. Includes full contents of U.S. Hispanic Newsstand. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.