Latin American and Caribbean Art

Art of the Americas: Collection of the Art Museum of the Americas of the Organization of American States is an endeavor that began four years ago, with the aim of studying, rethinking, and sharing the historical and cultural legacy of the AMA | Art Museum of the Americas and the Organization of American States with a broader audience.

A digital library of Mexican materials co-sponsored by the Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes, the Archivo General de la Nación, the Biblioteca Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH), and the Centro de Estudios de Historia de México CEHM-Carso.

The Centro Library and Archives is a treasured place where researchers, academics, teachers, students, genealogists, filmmakers, and the community at large find primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora. The Digital Collections provide access to photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving images and audio clips, and other digitized or born-digital material pertaining to stateside Puerto Ricans.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Explore over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st⁠-⁠century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities

The unique collection encompasses more than three thousand rare books, maps, manuscripts, historic documents, artifacts, and works of art related to early American history and the cultures of Florida, the Caribbean, and Mesoamerica. It is considered among the finest collections of its kind in the world, one that brings together material that is of equal interest to scholars and the general public

The Latin American Library has substantially expanded its holdings to include digital surrogates of primary source materials in its Special Collections. These holdings include digital collections of photographic materials, rare books, and manuscripts collections hosted by the Tulane Digital Library (TUDL).

LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Anyone could reuse LACLI to create their own guides or any other material for non-commercial purposes.

Digital collections held at the University of Texas-Austin's LILLAS Benson Latin American Collection.

NYPL's digital collection of items on Latin America from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

The Archives section of Mesolore presents transcriptions from alphabetic primary-source documents housed in libraries and archives in Europe, Latin America, and the United States. Most of these transcriptions are taken from unpublished bureaucratic documents: reports to the king of Spain, legal disputes, land surveys, inquisitorial investigations.

The music of Latin America is as varied as its people, incorporating Amerindian, African, and European influences that combine to create genres unique to the region. The Smithsonian Folkways Tradiciones⁄Traditions series highlights music from more than a dozen countries in South and Central America and the Caribbean, and spans more than 50 years of recordings. From Argentine folk classics by Suni Paz to Chicano rock originals by East LA’s Quetzal, this playlist demonstrates the diversity of Latino musical heritage across Latin America and within the United States.

A web site featuring unique cultural materials from libraries and archives from around the world.
prints and photographs.