Research Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Art: Articles and Journals

Select Journals

Latin American and Latinx Visual Culture
Latin American and Latinx Visual Culture is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing the most current international research on the visual culture of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, as well as that created in diaspora.
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures is a peer-reviewed humanities journal that provides a critical as well as creative space for Latina/o scholarship and cultural expression.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Content pertaining to US Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times to 1960. Includes historical articles, books, broadsides, newspapers and pamphlets in both Spanish and English.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic American civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare books and newspapers are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the US. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States.

Latino Studies Journal
This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.

Select Articles

Latin American Core Databases

If the article database does not include the full text, use the button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the Articles, books, and more scope of UC Library Search.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web)
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology.
RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal
Full-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
SciELO
A collection of electronic journals from all over Latin America.
Bibliografia Mesoamericana
Searchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present.

Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)
The LADB archive, located at the University of New Mexico, includes a searchable database of over 28,000 articles drawn from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals. Time period covered is 1986-2018.

Latino American Experience
Designed, developed, and indexed under the guidance of Latino librarians and library directors to meet the muliti-disciplinary research and curriculum needs of students, teachers, librarians, and researchers, the Latino American Experience (LAE) focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Over 1.3 million pages of archival material concerning Latin America and the Caribbean, including major collections about Latin American independence, Brazilian popular groups, Diplomatic activities in Cuba and more.

Art and Art History Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
Published by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to 2009. It is continued by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and covers from 2008 to the present. Contains some retrospective coverage, but for comprehensive research before 2008 it is essential to use BHA. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, photography, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
Abstracts articles from over 400 leading journals relevant to the international conservation field, as well as books and technical reports. Includes topics related to the preservation and conservation of art, architecture, and material cultural heritage. This system is free, but requires the individual user to register to take full advantage of searching options. Includes historic preservation and analysis of historic building materials.

Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Artforum, a magazine for coverage of international contemporary art. Covers June 1962 to 2020. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
An an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. The antique monuments known in the Renaissance are registered together with related Renaissance documents (texts and images), and information about locations, persons, periods, and bibliographic data. The Census is useful for art history and archaeology research, and for understanding the afterlife of antiquity.

DYABOLA This link opens in a new window
DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. CHECK THE BOX "ACTIVATE IP ACCESS" before clicking on the start button. Three databases are licensed:
1. Archäologische Bibliographie: references monographs, articles and reviews on Classical Archaeology, Etruscology, Minoan Archaeology, and Prehistory.
2. Monographien der Bibliographie zur Vor- und Frühgeschichte Europas (RGK), 1992-2006;
3. Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts.

Iconclass
Iconclass is a classification system designed for art and iconography. It is the most widely accepted scientific tool for the description and retrieval of subjects represented in images (works of art, book illustrations, reproductions, photographs, etc.) and is used by museums and art institutions around the world.

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Previously known as Index of Christian Art, this database indexes medieval art in books, manuscripts, and photographs (Princeton University). Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Focuses on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc. Search for musical instruments, musical notation, other music-related terms using Find searches.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexing 42 art journals published in the United States during the 19th century, this database thoroughly covers articles, art notes, stories, illustrations, poems and advertisements from these periodicals. Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration and collecting, making it an invaluable resource for art history research, as well as a valuable source of information on popular culture and industry.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.