Visual Arts Librarian
Selected Images
Dreamworld Mural by Norma Montoya, 1974
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections - Nancy Tovar Murals of East L.A. Collection (UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center Library & Archive)
Clay bust of a mother and child by Beulah Woodard, 1935-1955
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Chicana artist, Judith Baca with mural "Uprising of the Mujeres," Venice, Calif., 1988
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Art class at Watts Towers Arts Center, Los Angeles (Calif.), 1980
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Henry E. Huntington in front of the library building of his estate pointing towards a bronze cast of the Apollo Belvedere, San Marino, (circa 1927, orig. photo.)
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Santa Monica College student sculptor, Santa Monica, 1937
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Drawings by cartoonist Robert Day in the Otis Art Institute end-of-year student exhibition, Los Angeles, 1921
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Los Angeles and Southern California Art and Art History
Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for researching Los Angeles and Southern California art and art history.
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to art and art history in Los Angeles and Southern California. Please use the tabs on the left to locate frequently recommended resources.
Also see the basic guides for Art and Art History, Contemporary Art, and Art in Library Special Collections.
This guide is still being developed: if you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, or, if you need additional assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Created and published by Karly Wildenhaus, April 2017 (updated August 2024)
Related Research Guides
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies