Visual Arts Librarian
Welcome
This guide will help you find resources on photographic activity in the Los Angeles area.
Please note that this is a selective guide designed to assist with research on Los Angeles area photography and photographers. Use the catalogs and databases on this page to search for photographers and organizations that are of interest to you. Do likewise in the library's archival and digital collections.
Created and published by Raphael Sasayama, June 2017
Related Research Guides
Selected Databases
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowPublished by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to 2009. It is continued by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Try the Text Analyzer search tool.
Catalogs
Use these catalogs to search for library and archival materials.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFind primary sources (photographic prints, letters, etc.) by searching finding aids of archival materials at UCLA.
Selected Websites
- Conscientious Photography MagazineJörg Colberg's photobook blog Conscientious is now a webzine.
- 5B4Jeffrey Ladd's defunct blog on photobooks, recently continued on his new website.
- photo-eye's Best Books of the YearThe leading photography bookstore asks prominent figures to list their favorite photobooks that were published that year, which they then collate.
- American Suburb XDouglas Rickard's website on contemporary photography.
Selected Photography Subject Headings
Use the UCLA Library Catalog to find materials under these subject headings:
Photographers — California
Photography — California
Portrait photography — California
Street photography — California
Landscape photography — California
Outdoor photography — California
California, Southern — Pictorial works
Los Angeles Metropolitan Area (Calif.) — Pictorial works
Los Angeles (Calif.) — Pictorial works
Los Angeles (Calif.) — History — Pictorial works
Los Angeles (Calif.) — Social life and customs — 20th century — Pictorial works
Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.) — Pictorial works
Hollywood Boulevard (Los Angeles, Calif.) — Pictorial works
Venice (Los Angeles, Calif.) — Pictorial works
Photograph collections — California — Los Angeles
Photograph collections — California — Malibu
Photograph collections — California — Pasadena — Exhibitions
Photograph collections — California — San Diego — Periodicals
Photograph collections — California — San Marino
Photograph collections — California — Santa Barbara — Exhibitions