Search Google Scholar
Journal and Magazine Article Databases
If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowArticles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes major journals and magazines across multiple disciplines, and includes selected full text content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back issues of major academic journals from a range of disciplines.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles that contain biographical information on various public figures.
- Classic Mexican CinemaOnline collection of cinema periodicals, lobby cards, and flyers from the Golden Age of Mexican Cinema, including Cinema Reporter and Cine Mundial.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndexes western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles and books on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.