Online Film and Television Reference
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, locate short biographies, and list recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of FilmOnline via Gale Ebooks. The print volumes of this set are also available at the Arts Library. Good for coverage of national cinemas and major genres.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowHandbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth indexing of international films from the silent period to the present, with selected biographical information, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowOnline encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersOnline via Gale Ebooks. Search by film title or name of director, actor, or designer. Print editions (including earlier ones with different coverage) are available in the Arts Library.
- Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndex of biographical books and articles from 1946 to present.
- Contemporary Theatre, Film, and TelevisionOnline bio-bibliographical resource with information on the credits, awards, and ongoing work of contemporary figures in the performing arts. Part of Gale Ebooks.
- IMDb: Internet Movie DatabaseFreely available vast database with filmographic information, links to reviews, and some box office data.
- Korean Film CouncilEnglish language site of KOFIC, including box office stats. Under the "Publications" tab, full text versions of annuals, magazines, and a history of Korean film are available.
- Korean Movie DatabaseFilmographic information and plot synopses (in English). The Korean language version of the database contains more information about reviews and box office.
- Senses of CinemaInternet metasite with selected information on major directors and short critical articles.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic CulturesContains information on representation in films, as well as film directors and stars.
