Reference Universe
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find entries on your topic from among all the encyclopedias and other reference works in the UCLA Library, both online and in print.
Encyclopedias
- SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Login to VPN before accessing. Use the "Search within this encyclopedia box" to look for information on your topic. - The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intellectual and Developmental Disorders
- This link opens in a new window
Login to campus VPN before accessing. Use "Search within this encyclopedia" to search for information on your topic.
Encyclopedia of Disability by
The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, awarded Best Reference 2005 award from the Library Journal along with an Outstanding Award from the American Library Association′s Booklist journal. It represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader′s guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability, everything from photographs to correspondence to excerpts from movie scripts and more. ·· Sample entries are available to download from the resources section of the website - click on Sample Chapters & Resources to see more ·· The Encyclopedia of Disability is a must-have reference for all academic libraries, large public libraries and any social science, medical, legal, or governmental reference collections. Non-governmental organizations, charitable foundations and law firms will also want to add this set to their collections. Senior Editors Jerome Bickenbach, Queen′s University Scott Brown Dudley Childress, Northwestern University Medical School Joseph Flaherty, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Allen Heinemann, Northwestern University Tamar Heller, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Christopher Keys, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago David Mitchell, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Trevor Parmenter, University of Sydney, Australia Mairian Scott-Hill, Marsh Hills Cottage Tom Shakespeare, University of Newcastle Sharon Snyder, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Henri-Jacques Stiker, Univeristy of Paris Key Themes Conditions Therapies Biographies/History Laws Policy Consumer Organizations/Advocacy Definition/Concepts Movement Ideology International Developing Countries/Cultural Differences Professional and Lay Cultures Interventions Prevention Identity and Representation Products/Technology/Assisted Devices Social Political Universal Design/Architecture /Physical Environment Outcomes/Efficacy Cross Cultural/Cross National Journals/Resources Gary L Albrecht is Professor of Public Health and of Disability and Human Development at the University of Illinois at Chicago.
ISBN: 9780761925651Date: 2005-10-07
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by
Like race and gender, disability history has recently become a critical field of study in examining our nation's heritage. Sparked by the disability rights movement of the late 20th century, disability history both expands and challenges the traditional American narrative of self-reliance, individualism, and opportunity and yields new understandings of such bedrock American values as community, family, and citizenship. From the asylum movement of the 19th century and the cover-up of Franklin Roosevelt's paralysis during his presidency to the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act and the impact of every war on veterans' physical and mental health, the experience of disability - and society's reaction to it - has changed markedly from one era to the next. The definitions of disability have also changed since the colonial era, revealing competing views, approaches, and attitudes. ""Encyclopedia of American Disability History"" is the first encyclopedia to focus on this important topic in American history. By examining the issues, events, people, activism, laws, and personal experiences and social ramifications of disability throughout U.S. history, this comprehensive three-volume reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to our nation's past. More than 300 historians, scholars, and experts contributed to the more than 750 articles in this impressive work. Arranged alphabetically, each signed article includes cross-references to related entries and suggestions for further reading. Ideal for the high school and college curriculum, this accessible new encyclopedia also includes a comprehensive chronology and dozens of original documents. Entries include: Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf; Amputees and amputation; Asperger's Syndrome; Blind Boys of Alabama; Buck v. Bell; Disability art and artistic expression; Down Syndrome; Eugenics; Thomas Gallaudet; The Glass Menagerie; Guide dogs; Impairment/impaired; Little People of America; Long-term care; Million Dollar Baby; Miss Deaf America; Reproductive rights; South Park; Special Olympics; Ugly Laws; Workers' compensation; and The Yellow Wallpaper.
ISBN: 9780816070305Date: 2009-06-30
Statistics
- Annual Disability Statistics CompendiumNational Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education. 2009
- Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and DisabilityNational Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control
- US Census disability survey statisticsData on disability collected primarily from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
- Disability Statistics: Online Resource for U.S. Disability Statistics (Cornell University)Statistics, datasets, annual disability status reports (summary of the most recent demographic and economic statistics on the non-institutionalized population with disabilities) and more.
For resources in related guides, see...
Other Web Resources
- United Nations — DisabilityThe official website of the Secretariat for the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (SCRPD) in the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) at the United Nations Secretariat.