Distinguishing Periodicals
Peer-Reviewed: When a scholarly work is reviewed and vetted by a group of experts in said discipline (e.g., academic journals).
Trade/Popular Periodical: Non peer-reviewed publications typically written by journalists that reflect current trends and news (e.g., newspapers, magazines).
Related General and Music Resources
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of rock and roll criticism from various publications, 1970's to current.
Related Latina and Latino Resources
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the US. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology. - Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the US. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.